Giddy

I am so glad to be back on Open Diary that I am giddy. Giddiness at my age doesn’t happen very often! It isn’t often that a web site and the friends you have because of it are responsible for so much happiness. I couldn’t remember my password for sure and don’t have my old email address so I just rejoined. I printed all of my entries before the close so I have them.

So much has changed since I began writing on Open Diary in the 90’s. I am a newlywed once again. We won’t go into how many times I have had that title. LOL! Don and I got married on October 1, 2017, in a nursing home!Nope, neither one of us are living there yet but his only surviving aunt and my cousin as well as a friend from church were all living there and we wanted them to be able to attend our simple ceremony in the chapel. Our Sunday School class would hold services there periodically and I always loved the simple little chapel.

Don and I are both still working. We are both supposed to only work part time at the Sheriff’s Office but periodically it reverts to full time. In fact, Don worked 80 hours over the Christmas holidays, 15 hour days! It ruined our holiday but since this is my 50th year working in that environment I am used to it. Don is a former Chief of Police for our city so he knows what law enforcement entails also. He and I both work for Corrections and I also am a 911 Operator. It’s stressful but anything but boring.

I am now have 6 great grandchildren and 11 grandchildren, with 1 great and 1 grand on the way. You will hear more about them in entries to come. You can hardly wait, right?

I lost my brother in September. He had a massive stroke in 2003 and reverted to infancy. The doctor said his memory would never return.But it did.In fact he remembered things that I had forgotten. However, about 8 years later he started failing, resulting in dementia. He was 84 when he passed. I am the only one of my core family left. I hate that!!

I am a devout Christian and five family members have accepted Christ as their Savior since I did the same. These members were the ones that I felt were least likely to become devout Christians. God is good, all the time. All the time, God is good.

I am so anxious to see if I can find any of my former friends here so I have written enough for now.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 26, 2018

Thank you so much for rejoining! Very sorry to hear about your brother, that is very sad.

Welcome back, and I hope you feel comfortable here.

January 26, 2018

@thediarymaster Thank you so much for bringing OD back. It and the friends I made here saved my life more than once!

January 26, 2018

As more people come to the New OD to look around I’m sure you’ll get a lot of the old friends back in your life. Welcome back and wish you well here.

January 26, 2018

@middleagepearl I remember reading your diary before and am anxious to again!

January 26, 2018

Nice, isn’t it? I do miss the old format as well as the colors for OD, but I’m sure in time I’ll adjust. I did not know you had great grandchildren. It is good to learn new things about old friends.

January 26, 2018

Yay!!!! I’m so happy to see you here! I have so missed the personal connection of your entries. FB just doesn’t cut it.

January 27, 2018

@startingover_1 So, so glad to see you here!! I have been anxious to see if you came back!

January 27, 2018

Welcome back friend. We have stayed in touch on Facebook, but we know this is different and much more personal. Good to see you here!

January 27, 2018

@dlk082244 I was just thinking last night of how it will be a little different now, with several friends on Facebook and knowing what has been going on in their lives while OD was down. Even better, I’m thinking.

January 28, 2018

@kls2kezer yes, happy to be back!

January 27, 2018

Hi! It so nice to get to know you through your entry as I am new. I look forward to reading your entries and thank you so much for your Friend Request. We are the pioneers here at the New Open Diary. I too hope for many of my old friends to return. It’s our friends after all that make Open Diary, right? You take good care now.

January 27, 2018

@wildrose_2 Thanks for accepting my request. I so look forward to getting acquainted and re-acquainted through OD again!

March 17, 2018

Congratulations on your marriage.  I’m trying to catch up reading your entries:)