I NEED TO FOCUS!!

I was so happy to get back on Open Diary and was going to write another entry right after the first. But there was so much traffic on here this weekend that I decided to wait until Monday. Well, that didn’t happen. I found a new show on YouTube, the British version of Long Lost Family and was immediately hooked. I didn’t get anything done that didn’t have to be done.  Because of that, I had to catch up on housework and errand runs. Then this morning I remembered that I teach Children’s Church this month and I had better get in gear and get the lesson, craft, songs etc planned and ready. I have a partner but it would be so much easier if I didn’t. This partner is a silent partner and doesn’t seem to want to share any of her plans with me. So I’m working blind. My former partner and I each took two of the Sundays and made all the plans alone. That was so much easier. Whichever one wasn’t giving the lesson etc served as “bouncer” and keep the kids in line and paying attention. I guess I will see Sunday if my partner has everything planned. But for the kids sake, I have to have a backup in case she doesn’t. I love doing this and working with the kids so I don’t mind. I was way out of my comfort zone the first time I did it but found that it seems to fit me. I worked with at risk children for Kansas Children’s Service League for two years so it’s not totally foreign.

Grandson Zach had a birthday yesterday, his 28th. So Don and I took him out to the local Mexican Cafe for dinner. He actually had the day off which doesn’t happen often. He works fulltime for the Sheriff’s Office with Don and I and part time for the local Police Department. He normally has one day off a month.

 

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2018

One day off per month??? You would think they wouldn’t allow that. Seems that a police officer would need some down time to be able to function effectively. Of course, it’s probably not quite as stressful in a smaller community, but still.

February 1, 2018

@startingover_1 He’s still young but I keep telling him that he is going to age fast with that kind of schedule. His reason for doing that is that he loves it plus he is trying to pay off his student loans. He told me the other day that he has paid over $5000 on them in 3 months and only has $1600 to go and he will be totally out of debt with his house and vehicle paid in full also. He is a financial whiz and hates debt.

February 1, 2018

@kls2kezer So do I! Good for him!

February 1, 2018

@startingover_1 Hey, I still can’t get on your diary site. It still says I’m not authorized. Not sure what’s going on. But I hate it!

January 31, 2018

Your family has a pretty large representation in law enforcement there. I don’t think they could be in better hands.

February 1, 2018

@dlk082244 Thank you so much. I am so proud that two grandsons, a granddaughter and grandson-in-law followed in my footsteps.