Time Keeps on Ticking Into the Future (where did all my time go)

My selection of devices that connect to the internet is really… not so good.

Currently I’m on a netbook that my ex-husband allowed me to get. I say “allowed” because he was in charge of the finances, even though I’m the one who worked. I’m sure if I had been adamant about purchasing a thing, I could have, but that would cause arguments and I’m quite the conflict-avoider. I should go on about this at some point, but not now.

Anyway, this netbook… cute little thing with a tiny keyboard… I’m proud of it because we installed stuff on it so it can boot into either Windows 7 or .. that … Apple operating system. Okay so I never use that. IOS? I’m not an Apple person. But, dangit, if I wanted to use it I could right here and now! But first we’d have to restart and wait….

We purchased this… probably the year Windows 7 came out. Which I don’t quite remember. But it was definitely before 2012. So it’s pretty old. Currently I’m typing in this one Chrome window, and that’s all that’s active except for Avira Antivirus and whatever is running in the background – which all looks to be normal background processes. It’s using over 90% of my RAM. ๐Ÿ™ I don’t remember how much RAM this has… I could check… but I would have to wait about the same amount of time that it took to load webpages with multiple pictures and/or marquee text on AOL back in 1998. And it’s sort of odd that it is so difficult to have patience for things to load on the computer but IT’S INFURIATING. Mildly so. But more infuriating than I’m comfortable with at the moment. You see, I steal my own sleep time to make my posts.

So this little netbook is my preferred method of composing things. It’s my preferred method out of what I own, anyway. I would be much more comfortable with a regular-sized ergonomic keyboard, really…

MY actual COMPUTER computer was pretty much taken over by my children. It died on Friday. It had taken up residence in my oldest son’s bedroom – he says he was playing a game on Steam and it overheated. He said it smelled like burning plastic and everything. I took a peek inside the case and everything looked okay but that’s about as far as I have gotten in my efforts to revive it. ๐Ÿ™ I like that computer. We had just finally installed the software that went with the amp & electric guitar my mom got him for his birthday. I was really hoping he would record some of his guitar music and incorporate it with some of the other music he’s been making. He got Ableton forย  Christmas, which is professional music-making software, and he actually makes some pretty good stuff. His computer-made music is much different than the music he plays on the guitar, though. Sigh. He actually ran away again on Monday… just came back tonight. I don’t even know what to say about that so I’m going to talk about devices that have internet connectivity instead.

Then, of course, there’s my phone. It’s about 3-4 years old and it has had two big cracks in the screen since the first month I got it. Yay, it still works! I really should do a factory reset, but I’m hesitant to because then I’ll want to make sure all my pictures are backed up and I’ve already used up all my free Google backup space and so I’ll have to figure something out… and it just gives me anxiety about how much time it will take. The older I get, the more my patience is wearing thin with these sorts of things. Especially if I get repeatedly interrupted.

But phones really aren’t good for typing lots. I could maybe use a voice-to-text sort of thing but, for one – I used to be a medical transcriptionist and sadly I trained speech recognition technology to replace me, so I’m a little salty. Secondly, I am just not a big fan of talking at my phone. I will even avoid talking to people on the phone unless I really need to. It probably wouldn’t be a bad thing to start getting comfortable with using my voice to compose blocks of text but…. shhhh…. it’s quiet time. I should be sleeping. Everyone else in my home is. It’s the best way for me to do this sort of thing… ahhh silence.

Then I’ve got this laptop that my late-ex-father-in-law gave us a long time ago. He was a roofer and his boss upgraded the field work computer, so we ended up getting the laptop. It’s almost as big as the original xbox, and very heavy compared to what’s available today. The T button on the keyboard is broken, and if I were to connect to the internet, it would be over 9000% slower than this dual-boot netbook. The laptop has issues with overheating… and some other sort of issues that could have been caused by overheating or maybe something else. When it’s turned on it beeps like crazy, indicating some sort of issue. I wonder if I’ve researched the beeps before. Wouldn’t that be funny if they were actually Morse code? I found and installed some temperature monitor program that displays the current CPU temp on the taskbar. It CAN connect to the internet but there’s not much regular internetting that its outdated components and really keep up with.

There’s my oldest son’s phone, but that got taken away from him.

Oh! and also my younger son got a Wii U for his birthday. It connects to the internet pretty nicely but I am definitely not going to go on OD on there.

Welp… 5-1/2 hours until I have to wake up. That’s all of the devices I can think of that we have with internet capabilities. I want to get something new, but I’m not sure what and I don’t want to spend the money. Typing on a real keyboard though, that sounds really nice.

Log in to write a note
April 26, 2018

I hear your pain! I struggle to write anything longer than a Facebook update on my phone or tablet, and my computer at home has good days and bad days – plus I on’y really boot it up if I have client work to do. I find I tend to use the work computer on my lunch break for OD.

April 26, 2018

Itโ€™s one of the things that has surprised me bringing OD back (it shouldnโ€™t have) – that people have less access to โ€œrealโ€ keyboards anymore because we do so much with our phones.

April 26, 2018

My current computer is only a year old and it has a keyboard attached Its a large screen(with failing eyesight I need that )I hate phones I have had an aversion to them for years and only keep a mobile for emergencies.ย  Yesterday when the internet went down where I live I realized how dependant we have become on these devices.