You know you are getting older when

I just read  fb entry where somebody’s parents flew in from the west coast to look after her kids and animals while she went off to LA for some training or workshop.  My parents never did much of that even when they were younger but such opportunities are years if not decades past.

You know you are getting older when you are the safety net for your adult kids.  If your parents are still alive you are their safety net too and if you are really lucky like me you are the sandwich generation with a side order of fries as a dear friend said recently. On top of a special needs teenager and a recently widowed mother who is a stroke survivor, I also have an older and chronically ill spouse (he does still work fulltime for which I am so very thankful).

I am not going to post any details at all here but one of my adult kids is going through a major life crisis and we are back helping him and his wife out a lot more.  Prayers and good thoughts, etc  are welcome, think good health and prosperity, that will cover all the bases thank you.

Back to knitting:

This elephant is very cute:

http://susanbanderson.blogspot.ca/2007/04/page-18-elefante.html

And while they are really tiny, I might just have to knit a unicorn one of these days:)

http://mochimochiland.com/shop/tiny-unicorn-kit/

and finally, I love all of these dolls and now they have critters too:

http://thedolly-mamas.com/products/

 

[ETA:  don’t know why the empty nesting post stayed saved also as an unposted draft.  Have deleted the duplicate post with different name]

Log in to write a note