#bellLetsTalk

If we’re going to talk about it, let’s really talk about it, right?

I always joke that it takes a lot of work to look as average as I do, and the truth is it really does. It’s not just physical but a mental struggle for me.

When you have an eating disorder you have it for life. It wakes up with you every morning and goes to bed with you every night. It makes your self hatred run so deep you can’t stand to be in your own skin. So on top of living healthy, you have to fight your own demons, demons that are so ingrained in you, you can’t separate them from yourself.

“This is the very boring part of eating disorders, the aftermath. When you eat and hate that you eat. And yet of course you must eat. You don’t really entertain the notion of going back. You, with some startling new level of clarity, realize that going back would be far worse than simply being as you are. This is obvious to anyone without an eating disorder. This is not always obvious to you.”

Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

 

If you’re on PB, in 2014 I wrote an entry detailing my emotional meltdown during a juice cleanse in regards to my eating disorder. Interesting.

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2018

I didn’t know about the #BellLetsTalk initiative until this morning, but thanks for bringing it to OD.

January 31, 2018

Your title brought me to your diary. Eating disorders are a hell. It’s not like a drug addiction where you can have a life without it. You are forced to fight the demon day in and day out. I am sorry for the pain you go through the unending struggles you face. Thank you for talking about it. It starts with talking about it so we can help ourselves and others.

February 1, 2018

I saw something about this on Twitter this morning. I am sorry for your struggle. I have a pretty negative self image but thankfully it hasn’t led me to a serious eating disorder. Other things, sure. Stay strong!!