Feels like Home <3

 
It’s been almost a week back in the Mac.

Ottawa was more amazing than I imagined. What a perfect way to spend our first anniversary! 

Our flight out of Fort Mac was grounded for three hours due to Fog, and we ended up having to take a detour through Toronto, since we missed our connection from Calgary direct to Ottawa. So we had a 5 hour stop in Toronto, and no danishes. Boo. So rather than arriving in Ottawa at 4pm, we got in at midnight. 

It’s ok… Rachelle stopped by and we hung out and smoked late into the night, despite that I had an early morning wax appointment. I woke up early, got my brows done (thank god, my skin is better!) and picked up Bridgehead lattes, and croissants on my way back up the condo.

My dream condo is situated over a Bridgehead, Gord is living my dream! Well not even, since he rents out his place! 

I usually feel dejected when I’m not waking up in my own home, in my own bed. Even when I am at my parents house, I feel unsettled. But waking up at Gords, in Ottawa, felt like home. 

It was like stepping back into our old life there, like we didn’t miss a beat. It was amazing! 
Thursday was a busy one. We ad Thai, from our favourite Thai place 🙂 We did some initial running around, the market, the mall. Sam needed a coat because it was much colder than we anticipated!

We met up with McMurtry back at the Condo, and smoked before we went to Navarra for dinner. It’s Spanish cuisine, and it’s just a tiny place in the Market. But damn, the food was good! There was live entertainment, a woman singing accompanied by a gentleman on the Keyboard. Honestly, if she hadn’t been standing right there, singing, I would have thought it was recorded, her voice was flawless!

After dinner, two of Sam’s friends popped by for beers and joints, and my old buddy Luigi and his friend joined us later on, and Rachelle stopped by after work… well this gathering went on until about 4am, when Rachelle grabbed a cab and headed home. What a great night, even though it was just myself and the boys, I had a great time…! I haven’t laughed like that in a long time…! Often I prefer being around guys, they’re much more easy going… lucky for me I have some great Girlfriends in Ottawa that also share this trait!

Needless to say, this was a trip of late nights, which made for late starts to the day. We had originally made two brunch reservations for Saturday and Sunday, and when we woke up (extremely late!) Friday, we came to the consensus that early morning plans were not going to be a great idea!
 
Friday night we hosted a BBQ at Gords. Most of the gang showed up, people who couldn’t make it that day we saw other times. But it was so nice to be around friends! You don’t realize how much you miss that social aspect of life until you’re back into it!

Saturday was our 7 Year anniversary…! 7 years, went by fast, but at the same time it felt like a long journey to where we are now. We chilled with our coffee and took it easy. We cuddled on Gord’s giant loveseat and watched Son’s. It was like old life in Ottawa, and honestly its that everyday life feeling I miss most.

We talked about a life plan that involved our return to Ottawa, permanently. If I find out my health is so messed up I can’t have children, we said we’d buy Gord’s condo! But we’re hoping to go back in the Spring (ahem, someone is turning 30, and would love to celebrate with friends!)  and condo shop a bit! 

I told Sam, that Ottawa Sam is a different, more laid back, happier Sam than Fort Mac Sam. Fort Mac Sam works a lot. Which is understandable, but I feel like when he’s off, there’s nothing to look forward to doing except lazing around the house (which Sam NEVER does). Whereas Ottawa Sam, can go out fora nice dinner, or head to La Bottega and get primo food to prep a nice dinner, or even call up a friend for beers and the game. HIs friend from work at Ottawa U, kept asking us to move back, he really misses Sam…! Actually everyone asked us when we were coming back, and Rob practically squeezed the life out of me asking me not to go back! Man I love these people.

So after chilling we got all dolled up for the Main event. Our anniversary dinner at Atelier. Since we were ready a little early, we decided to do ‘gift’ ecxhange’ before dinner. So, I’m thee awful unemployed wife so for our paper anniversary, I got Sam a card 
🙁 I know that the trip was OUR gift, but he went a head and got me tangible gifts also. Grrr. I love him, and he spoils me, but we made a deal that on anniversaries we would do something together, rather than get gifts for one another… with the exception of next year when I get to get him something, and he’s off the hook 😉 

So he got for me, Michael Kors boots, and a Skull Cashmere Sweater (which I can’t wait to have somewhere to wear!). Too much money he spent on me, but I’m so lucky to have such a wonderful guy who spoils me on top of it all! 

I know I’m good with expression through words, so my card made him tear up. I know he doesn’t NEED gifts, but I wish I could have done more… He kept insisting that the lavish dinners we went out for were gift enough. Such a sweet heart! I mean, those things I get to share in also, so they’re not just his, but he’s right… without him I wouldn’t do them, and he wouldn’t want to go without me 🙂

So after a very scary cab ride to Atelier, we sat down for our 12 course dinner. It was Incredible! 
The courses all had cute names like "The Denzel Squashington", and each was amazing. Usually you go to a restaurant and look over a menu, and decide what you like, but here the course is set, and you just take what comes, and what comes is some of the most delicious food I’ve ever eaten!

But, being sick I haven’t been eating much, and even though the portions aren’t large, I barely made it to second dessert! If you love food, and don’t mind paying for an exceptional meal, and you are in Ottawa… I highly recommend! But not everyone I know is as crazy as Sam and I, and would drop that kind of money on dinner… but worth it, Indeed!

Dinner was at 9, and it took 3 hours, so we caught a cab around midnight and headed to John’s halloween party! John always throws these epic Halloween parties, but since we got married this weekend last year, he didn’t have one… so it was nice to be there for the return of the Halloween party…! 
We got here late, and by 1 am the party seemed like it was dying down… until By Law showed up and fined John for being too loud (this is a personal thing his homophobic neighbour with him) so John was having none of it, and we partied til 4am. 

So we slept in way late and spent another afternoon lazing at Gords. Man I love Ottawa, just the being in Ottawa is so comfortable…! 

Sunday night was our last night (sniff sniff!) and we had TONS of beer and wine and food leftover from the BBQ, so Rob, Rachelle and Shervon stopped in to hang out. We sent food and booze home with each of them. 

It was a nice chill night. Since it was Sunday night, people left early. It was sobeautiful out, Sam and I decided to go for a late night walk. While we were walking. we decided to head to our old neighbourhood, in search of an open coffee place to grab a warm drink. What we found instead was a Taco window! So we munched on Taco’s before we started back to Gords. 

It doesn’t sound exciting, but what a perfect anniversary day! It just felt like home, and it was amazing.. I wouldn’t change any of it.

Monday we had to get up early, since Gord was having someone come in to work on his place. So we got up incredibly early, 9am, smoked a joint, picked up coffee and headed to the SC.

The weather had been iffy, and cold and rainy, so we weren’t sure we were going to make it to the SC but we did. It’s my favourite place. So we smoked our last joint at the SC, and chilled until the wind started getting cold. It was too windy up on the ledge, so we went down to the spot where we got engaged, and sat on a bench, and dreamed about a new life in Ottawa. 

We had a lot of time to kill so we walked up Sparks, to our old bridgehead, and sat down inside to warm up with a cafe. More Ottawa life talk, before heading out to grab our stuff at Gords and head to the airport.

It was heartbreaking to leave. The whole time we walked, and waited we kept saying we should just say fuck it, and stay. If only it was that easy! 

I kept saying that I wanted to move to Sudbury, and be close to my parents… but I can’t imagine not raising a family, or growing old in Ottawa. Ottawa is home, and it has been for many years now. 

So my skin held out the entire trip, with exception of two small dime size patches, one on my collarbone and one on my neck. During the travel home they decided to go crazy and spread… and i like a fool scratched them when I got home 🙁

So friday I got a blood test done, and I saw my doctor. He gave me another round of anti-biotics, and a mild Hydrocortisone cream for the next two weeks… hopefully this is it! I mean it’s not coming back or spreading, and it’s not bothering me… I am sick right now, runny nose, scratchy throat… the usual fall snifflies, but I’m being optimistic. I told him I want to have a kid asap, so I need him to help me get healthy no matter what!

I learned from the last bout of anti-biotics, and Im taking a pro-biotic, and acidiphilous (sp??) to keep my stomach from feeling like it’s dying… and I’m eating
healthy and taking immune boosting suppliments. With the exception of my morning coffee, I’m not having any dairy, and as of today I’m going grain free! With the exception of Ottawa I’ve really cut back on my weed smoking, and as of Sam’s birthday I’m pretty sure I’m going to be pretty much weed free also…!

Since the bacterial infection covered so much of my body for so long (including my face), it was a very dangerous situation to be in, and my naturopath is still stuck on the food allergy thing… it makes me hesitant to see her… but I liked acupuncture for my asthma… so I’m not sure when I’ll go back. She really gave me so much bad advice… like she told me to put salve with beeswax on it, which gave the bacteria a wonderful breeding ground and caused it to spread, even more. Her allergy test results don’t make sense either. Anything I was eating (broccoli for example) came up as a food intolerance, and anything I wasn’t eating came up clean… :/ My family doctor rolled his eyes when I told him this, and he said when your body is in distress, you can have a reaction to any and everything you come in contact with or eat. So tomorrow i need to call to get an allergy screen done for him. I had a food allergy test done in Ottawa in 2010, and i didn’t have any food allergies, so we shall see. 

Right now I feel good. Not 100%,but maybe 70%, and I’m sick… and that’s better than before! I have a derm appiontment for late January… so hopefully if this doesn’t better tself by then, he’ll be able to tell me what’s going on…!

I really want to have a baby… before I get too old! So things to look forward to, buying a condo, starting a family, and getting some school courses under my belt. I feel re-juvinated.

Ok that’s long enough. Time hit the books!

Hope everyone’s been good… 🙂 Thanks for working today OD! I’ve been trying to write this for a week…!

(sorry this is such a hodge podge, mess…! I need to get back to writing properly, now that I’m feeling better!)

Log in to write a note

What’s the SC? I can’t wait for Ottawa to start feeling more like home! I’m starting to think that Halifax was home for me.. I guess I need to give it more time. I do love it out here though, I’m glad you had a wonderful weekend and anniversary 🙂

You sound so much better – reading this was a joy! You’re positivity is gorgeous. I feel so excited for you. 🙂 Happy anniversary! x