Morning Thoughts

    My morning coffee is just black, no nonsense, get the job done coffee.  Later on in the day I may go for a caramel iced coffee to keep the caffiene system running, but no tom foolery this early.  Morning coffee should be coffee that means business – hot enough to open my throat, strong enough to open my eyes.  I’m somewhere into the second cup as I write.  This just may take awhile today.  😉  

    Soooo…football, right?  Crazy year!  Began with my boys in Honolulu Blue having a great start and then moving right to thuggery ball.  Hated that, it broke my heart.  A couple of games into the season and I turned them off.  My son was shocked!  "But Mom," he says, "They may never have another good year while you are alive!"  To which I replied, "Yes, Son, but I won’t ever have to regret watching that mess either, now will I?"  Cleating players, coach rumbling on the same level…..sad, just sad.  Would have wrote off the whole year but hubby is a Gator fan and has been following Tebow and the Broncos.  Really, how can you not root for someone who is such a good sport, great kid, and grand role model? 

    Big Ten was a yawn, wasn’t it?  Too much scandal, not enough football.  Waayyy to much money in college ball, it has taken away from developing good teams and great athletes.  Blue had a better year, however, good to see the rebuilding there.  SEC – now, that was the conference to watch this year!  Kind of a snoozer on the championship game but do you guys remember back in the day when the SEC was all QB and offense and no defense?  Sorry Tuffy and Snoozy for your Tigers.  Hard to lose the big game.

    Moving on…..we’re homeschooling now.  How’s that for a big change?  I thought so too.  We had begun exploring some options for keeping the girls on task through the upcoming trials this year and discovered that our county now offeres a virtual school.  Since I am home now (my company sold its building and moved my office home) and only work two days a week anyway, it was a pretty easy decision.  It has actually been a much easier transition than I thought it would be and I’m able to work with each one individually in the areas they struggle in.  Morning -> coffee -> school -> dinner -> school -> gym -> supper -> family time ->.   Not a bad gig.  Definetely different than what I am used to but I think I’m going to find ways to flourish in it myself.  My school starts next week and I’m teaching two classes this year so I can certainly use the study time, right?

    Tuffy, the weather has been warm all year.  We had two cold days that set records with 22 degree lows sandwiched in between days that were 70-75 degrees.  A little rain today but it has been bone dry for months!  While our visitors like this weather we know that these mild/dry winters spell summers with out of control mosquitoes and fires.  We need to get some rain soon because our dry season is real bad March thru June anyway.  

    Picking up the grand kidlins today for Awana.  We’ve been on a break for three weeks and it’s going to be great seeing them waiting for me in front of the school.  Usually I walk and get them but it looks like it may still be raining this afternoon so they’ll get to ride in Lama’s talking truck, which tickles them anyway.  That Sync is funny stuff….we make prank calls from the truck.  ….What?  

    Other stuff, there’s always other stuff of course, but I’m thinking I’ll just leave it in the other stuff file for another day.  Roo laughs that I can do that but I explain it this way…..I can only take a step towards what’s next…it does me no good to get ahead or turn around.  So, my next things today are to work on this evening’s study, catch up a little bit in my office, and piddle around the house.  I’m excited about this evening.  A year ago I asked for an opportunity to wean an evening ladies class away from the standard fare of women’s studies and into expositional study straight from the Bible.  I’m not sure they thought it could be done but slowly I moved them into meatier and meatier fare through historical teaching, apologetics, doctrine… whetting their appetite for what the Bible holds.  Tonight we will start in Colossians and I believe we will be doubled the size we were when this started.  They are excited!  God is always good.

    Go have a great Wednesday.  

Lama

     

Log in to write a note

Football? ha lol all I have is three words for that and they are TIM TEBOW!!!!!! YAYYYYYYYYYYYYY

January 11, 2012

Wow, I’m thinking you know more about football than our buddy Tuff…lol Bet he’ll love hearing that…. 😛

January 11, 2012

One of my favorite books in God’s word. Da girls are going to love you after this one.Straight from the Bible works for me, everytime. The team I watched all year long did not play Monday night. Sloppy comes to mind. Your weather kinda sounds like ours around here. LOl {{{{{HUGS}}}}

January 11, 2012

Home schooled my son for several semesters, found it the best part of his education in part because I took it on the road. The book learning is good and necessary, but hands on is invaluable and memorable. Traveled around Termi’s area, did much history, added geography too. Miss those days. I turned off football a lot, tired of fights. I want to see ball! Was nice to see U of M rebuild this year.

January 11, 2012

I’m sure you’re going to be a fabulous home schooler.

January 13, 2012

lucky ladies having you as their teacher…lucky kids to have you period…lucky me to be able to call you friend….huggs

January 14, 2012

“I can only take a step towards what’s next…it does me no good to get ahead or turn around.” Sounds like a good operational plan. Colossians, one of my favorites… I once memorized chapter 3 in the Living Bible.

January 14, 2012

Since the football season is over, I’d appreciate not reading about it thank you.

January 17, 2012

🙂

Mns
January 17, 2012

Even when we struggle to see … He is always good. I remember the days of prank phone calls … Innocent fun. Well, maybe not so when my friend and I would call restaurants and bakeries, making reservations. lol. But the other stuff … yeah.