Meal Prep Working so Far

For the first time in a long time i feel very optimistic. I have done fad diets and lost some weight only to gain it all back and then some. I’ve tried counting calories, South Beach, Paleo, Weight Watchers and I even went vegetarian. Nothing worked long term. I like working out, so that’s not a problem (although it took about 3 years to actually start liking it), but my weight loss stalls with my diet. I give myself excuses to eat food I shouldn’t on the weekends. I eat so well during the week only to say you did great go ahead and eat that entire bag of starbursts…

Slowly, I’ve been learning to eat more balanced meals. I started meal prepping 3 weeks ago. I make meals I find on Pinterest that look good with foods I’m willing to eat or try. The first week I tried sweet potatoes. I never liked them (or actually tried them because they looked weird to me so I assumed I wouldn’t like them). They were pretty good. In the past three weeks I have lost 2 pounds (which isn’t a lot, but at least it’s something!). On the weekend I even had moments of not eating so great (see above starburst comment, I didn’t eat the whole bag in one sitting, it took 3 days).

I also started working out at least one day of the weekend, and I think that it helping if I decide to eat some crap that weekend. I’m optimistic because I’m actually eating foods I like and losing weight. I’m hoping if I continue this I might actually meet my goal… I have to keep my overeating under control, but I might actually get there.

 

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2018

Prepping definitely helps. If you know in advance what you’re eating, it’s less time spent thinking about your next meal and keeping food on the brain. Always thinking about what to eat and when you get to eat it is as problematic as overeating. In fact, it lends itself to overeating because a person tends to get ravenous by the time the eating comes around. I know it worked for me… until I stopped working out and stopped having preplanned meals with everything I need for the week already in my fridge, freezer, and cabinets. As far as diets go, Keto works really well. REALLY well. Add exercise and weight seems to melt off. The problem I have is that we are financially screwed at the moment and anyone who tries to eat healthy knows how expensive healthy food is. Needless to say my endocrinologist is not exactly thrilled with me or my glucose numbers.

September 11, 2018

@caria I’m so sorry to hear that! But omg yes, eating healthy is expensive. It’s like the food industry wants to punish us for trying to be healthy.

September 12, 2018

@lawoods IKR? It’s crazy! They do that and then the insurance industry sucks our souls dry for being sick and then want to drop us for costing them money. It’s all connected. I’m not a conspiracy theorist, but given the fact the government keeps overreaching into my pocket and in some cases into my private girlie bits taking stuff away every time, it’s kind of easy to see they’d rather just have us all kick the bucket. LOL

September 11, 2018

All the best to you eating well. I hear meal prep is a good way to go.