putting my thoughts together

Note – I wasnt sure I was going to post this here as well, but I decided…why not?  This is today’s entry from my ldsjournal.

I’ve got several things flying around in my head this afternoon/evening. I’m not really sure where to start or how to put them in some sort of recognizable order.  I realized this morning what a difference living the gospel has begun to make in the way I view my life.  I’m getting better at saying my prayers, I’m reading the scriptures daily, I’m journalling daily….all things that will help me grow closer to my Heavenly Father.  Right now I’m praying to learn patience.  I need patience both as it applies to surgery, as it applies to moving out of my parents’ house, and as it applies to finding the man I will one day marry in the temple.  Patience is never something I’ve been very good at, but I heard a quote a week or so ago that said something about not having patience is akin to telling the Lord that you know when the time is best for such and such to happen.  And I truly don’t think that I know better than the Lord…I’m just not good with waiting.  I had this epiphany as I got ready for church and realized just how much joy was in my heart over going to church.  When I said my prayers this morning (and a yay for my memory on that one!) I couldn’t help but pour out my joy to my Heavenly Father.

As usual, Sacrament meeting was terrific. The speakers talked about charity today.  It was definitely interesting to think of Charity as a way of life or as a state of being.  That charity is something within us, not simply a descriptive word of acts we do.  I must say though that I really don’t like conducting "Dear to the Heart of The Sheperd."   It’s a pretty song, but what a pain to conduct.  The best way is to either use two 3/4 measures or a 6 beat measure – but in either case it’s a lot for me to keep track of while still trying to sing out so the Congregation will sing out.  As Sacrament meeting was running behind, we didn’t get to sing all of hymn # 220, "Lord I Would Follow Thee."  It’s one of my favorite hymns.  Following Sacrament, I went over to talk to Brianna 🙂 YEP! Clarine was back at church today. I don’t think they stayed the whole length of church, but it was great to see them again.  Clarine’s looking pretty good 🙂  Brianna apologized for not giving me a call that one Monday I was off work.  I made sure to tell her it wasn’t a big deal.  It sounded like she wanted to call me, which is good. But that day her mom came by and early in the day the doctor did too with news that Clarine might be able to go home that night which made the day kind of crazy.  I did offer to give her some adult company during the day though, as I’m home by 3 every day until Labor Day.  I think she’ll give me a call.  She’s such a sweetheart.  I know with her husband as busy as he is (he’s the bishop of our ward), she could use some more adult company during the week.

I think I’m beginning to tire of primary.  I lovei t, don’t get me wrong. But my class is really grating on my nerves these days.  My class talks way too much and I need to figure out ways to make them stop.  I definitely need to pray about it. 

On a lot of levels, I’m not looking forward to work tomorrow but at the same time I am.  Mostly I’m looking forward to getting work over with so I can have the afternoon.  I’m going to have Thursday afternoon to myself, which will be nice.  My mom and brothers will be headed east and my dad wont be home til after I’ve gone to bed.  My dad and I are then headed to IL on Friday after I get off work.  Saturday (so long as I don’t need to work) is the primary activity.  My mom’s hoping to get home sometime late Saturday so she can go to Sacrament meeting on Sunday.  One of the young men from our ward returns from his mission this week and will be speaking next Sunday.  However, he’ll be gone by the following Sunday. He’s headed back to BYU with his brother, while his parents and other brother head up to northern Alaska to live (they’re moving up there for a job).  Again on the topic of patience, I’ll have to wait til January to have the house all to myself for awhile.  My parents are headed to Hawaii from Jan 14 through Jan 25th.  They decided to go on a trip after my dad’s done with all his travelling (which at this point should end come mid to late December) and then after my brothers both go back to school.  So right now it looks like they’ll be leaving the same day my brothers do.  My dad bought his and my mom’s tickets yesterday morning using his frequent flier miles.

 

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

Log in to write a note
August 16, 2009

Check your e-mail when you have the time to sit and read through an Ensign article about patience that I sent to you. The “title” quote from it is: “Patience may well be thought of as a gateway virtue, contributing to the growth and strength of its fellow virtues of forgiveness, tolerance, and faith.”

August 16, 2009

Also, check out http://www.dailywow.org

August 16, 2009

Glad clarine is back and looking better. I’ve been writing my real journal on ldsjournal and then stripping the identifying information to post here. I find my writing is less inhibited this way.

August 19, 2009

I think learning/applying any Christlike attribute takes a lot of time and experience. I know for me, I wonder how I’ll ever get to the person I want to become, but then I realize nobody can be perfect overnight. It definitely is a process thing. But you’ll learn patience. 🙂