IT IS NOW OFFICIAL..NO MORE COVID HERE.

My state of Victoria Australia is totally Covid Free.      Not one case reported at all for a week ANY WHERE IN THE STATE.   It doesn’t mean that we can drop our guard down.  This is a very very sneaky  virus.   But we beat it here by…….

Wearing Masks.   Compulsory.. still in enclosed spaces..Supermarkets. Shopping Centres etc.

Outside no masks which makes it easier for me when I walk my gorgeous Beagle, Buddy.

Banning traveling interstate and overseas.  Banning overseas passengers arriving  without going into isolation for 14 days and have Covid testing.

At one stage we even had a curfew from 8 pm – 5am.

People were asked to work from home is possible.  That is still in place.   My daughter works for one of our major universities and has been working from home since April.  She actually loves it and believe it or not gets more work done than she usually does in the office.  I think a lot of employers will be rethinking about letting folk work from home.  When she does go back the decision at this stage, is 3 days home, 2 in the office.

Gatherings were strictly forbidden.    No more that 11 at funerals and weddings which made it very hard for people including my own family when my brother- in- law passed away a few weeks back.  I could never go and see him in palliative care which was hard.  Only my Sister and her gang.

That is just a few examples.  It can be done.  It is draconian.  But if it saves one life, it is worth it.

 

 

Covid got into our Nursing Homes by people not obeying the law and a big mistake by the government on the use of unreliable security  guards not doing their jobs properly at a hotel that had been lock-down because of an outbreak. Though that it eventually made its way into nursing homes and as deadly result we lost 800 folk.  It broke my heart I am here to tell you.  Reading day after day someone else’s mum or dad passing away.   Those weeks made us all the more determined to beat this thing.

And here we are. The sun is shining.  I am being picked up for lunch by my Sis and we are off to a beautiful restaurant to celebrate my birthday and how we have pulled through these awful weeks.

We have proven you can do it.  You have to be strict and you have to really want to save lives by sacrificing a few freedoms in order to get there.  Now we have to continue to do the right thing.

Congratulations to Dan Andrews our Premier and Brett Sutton on Chief Health Officer .  You leadership has been amazing.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
kat
November 26, 2020

Wow that is amazing!!!

November 26, 2020

Well done and happy birthday.
My husband’s company was against working from home for years, until COVID.  Now with most of their staff working from home, they’re finding how well it’s working out and rethinking their policy too.

November 26, 2020

Happy birthday to you.  Let us know what you had to eat.  Congratulations for the great accomplishment.

That’s great! I wish Canada was COVID free.

December 1, 2020

This is really awesome news.