White people guilt!

So I wanted to start journaling about my process on the path to being an anti-racist educator and I felt it was important for me to reflect on the meeting I just had. It was rough, on my end, because even with the work I’ve already done it felt so white-savioury. And I have to sit in that uncomfortableness. Because this is part of the work. And wanting to have a solution, and wanting the student’s voices to not just be there telling of their troubles isn’t good enough. But I can’t offer a solution. And I had to be so careful of my language not to be erasing work already done or the experiences of the Black students but I know I was, which was…well I guess it’s not great but it is what it is. And it’s not going to be right the first time. But better to do it and not do so well at it than not do it at all. I had to be ready to accept criticism and skepticism from the Black student who didn’t know me. It was a lot. But it was definitely important. I have so much work to do.

Log in to write a note