From @caria

@caria

My favorite memory from the past 20 years is…

That has got to be either raising my 28 year old nephew from birth to age 13 when the CAS (or Child Services) took him away or meeting Bees 23 years ago in college. My foster sister and her mother were both drunks and I wasn’t going to let them ruin his childhood or his life… so I put college (where I met Bees!) on the backburner and raised him as my own. Bees knew about Lorie (my sister) and understood… thank God. And, I met HER while attending Seneca College for the Applied Arts and Tech. She and I had the same classes… and we eventually became closer and when my foster mother had her stroke, I moved up from Toronto to Newmarket where she lived and the rest they say is history.

Sammy

Log in to write a note
June 5, 2020

These are wonderful memories to have. Always toss out the bad and keep the good, I say! And I can relate, too! One of my favorite memories is when DCFS (bad) got called on my sister (alcoholic) who got thrown in rehab (bad) and I stayed in their apartment and took care of Ducky. All together, I took care of Ducky for about six months while my sister was in and out of rehab. I loved my time alone with Ducky because every time my sister came back, she’d drink and get falling down drunk, and she’d scare the hell out of Ducky. She was not even two-years-old then. I was always terrified she would hurt my dog, because on one cold winter day, she told me she hated me and that I should take my dog and go outside. And then she locked us out without caring how cold it was. Wasn’t the first time she threw us out. Obviously, these were bad situations.  But always there was Ducky and caring for her. Those were good matter what.

June 5, 2020

@caria I love that name for a dog, what breed was Ducky… yes, family before function, y’know?

June 5, 2020

@littleavocado Oh lol… Ducky is my oldest niece. 🙂 Teacup is the toddler. Ducky was just shy of two years old when all this started, and until my sister lost the kids for a year, my husband and I took the kids or I went there everytime she got drunk so someone could take care of her (them). The day she lost them, we had them the night before… went back to get more clothes, diapers, formula, etc, and she was still drunk and ordered us out. My husband had enough and he dragged me out of there while Ducky was screaming, “Don’t leave me.” That haunted me for the whole year. But my sister got sober and got them back. They’ve been back for two years now.

June 5, 2020

@caria Ah yes LOL!! Sorry!! OMG… that must have been harrowing!!

June 5, 2020

@littleavocado Honestly, worst year of my life being separated from them.

June 5, 2020

@caria I’ll bet.

June 5, 2020

Both memories sound amazing.