Silent treatment & lack of respect

I decided to give me brother silent treatment for all the times he has done something and not apologized which is all the time. Yesterday he cussed me out and threatened me because he has a short fuse. No apology. But I deserve respect, I’m not a crumb. I’m a full grown adult, and if I’m going to stay here like they wanted me to then something has to change. I’m simply asking to be treated respectfully not as family, just as another human. I can’t stay here if he can’t manage that. Eventhough i only planned to stay for another year because of reasons, I just need to set boundaries and not be a push over.

I only hope my father wont get in the way of my business. My relationship with my brother is not his to decide, its mine. I’m going on 21 this year. My mother treats me as an adult but my father is controlling at times and I need to set boundaries on what he can and cant do now that I’m older.

He can’t dictate how I handle my relationships anymore, he can’t decide who I date or when, can’t decide what type of career I enter or what type of friends I choose to have. It in no way affects him. Silent treatment comes off as immature, but I’ve never once shown to be unhappy with my brother or anyone for that matter, people treat me like a carpet and I refuse to be a carpet anymore. I want to be treated as human, and I have never cussed out any of my family members.  He might apologize out of obligation, but not out of sincerity. To try to smoothen things over. No thank  you.

I rarely talk to him as it is. I feel like if I don’t do this then it wont set my boundaries at all when I need those.

Log in to write a note

You got it. Family needs to just stay out of your affairs and let you live your life the way you want to!