As the Sun Sets

I am waiting. I care, so I am waiting. She’s taking a summer class and gets overwhelmed by her emotions easily. We both know that the romance is over, but we both love, we both care, so we are waiting to discuss the end. The 16th, her class comes to its conclusion and her 6 hours a day of studying break for 4 days. When it ends, we’ll talk, and we’ll go our separate ways.

I can tell I’ve decided I am single. Reining it in for another couple of weeks, until she finishes her class, though, for her sake. I want her to do as well as she can in the class without the distraction or ache of the end of our relationship. She has to work too hard to do well to suffer that distraction. It won’t be easy for either of us when it’s over, but it will be right. We’re on different paths, at different points in our lives, and I think we both have someone out there who is a better match.

It’s been such a slow, calm, friendly downhill toward the end. Such a great thing, to be adults and realizing that there’s no reason to be nasty when we’ve invested so much time and love into each other.

Log in to write a note
August 2, 2018

Sounds very mature of you. I wish you the best!

August 2, 2018

So sorry to hear about your breakup. Breakups and outgrowing relationships, even if you can be mature about it, are hard.