(Still) Haven’t Met You Yet

My Lady,

I am waiting for you, have been waiting for you my entire life. From time to time I thought that I had met you, that I had held countless doors for you. I will never think she was less than an amazing woman, but she wasn’t you.

I can’t wait to see your face when you realize I write poetry, can’t wait to watch you consume everything I have written like I somehow wrote it all for you. I look forward to seeing the heat rise in your cheeks when certain of my words caress you. I can taste your delicious but welcome frustration when I send you such words while we’re both at work. 😉

There are endless dances waiting for us, and endless dance lessons in so many things. But I am particularly looking forward to learning and exploring the intimacy of kizomba and argentine tango. To name just two of many. We haven’t met and I miss you, my partner for all these weekly dances.

There are so many grocery store aisles and coffee shops to dance in randomly. No one has ever convinced me life isn’t a musical, so let’s dance, and sing.

I saved you a ticket to The Lion King in January. I don’t know if you’ll be around to use it and I may even share it with someone else if you aren’t, but I am sure there will be countless other musicals in our future.

Do you imagine, like I do, long, lazy weekend mornings on the couch drinking coffee, each with a book in hand? Netflix, but not cable, and shows that make us laugh or light sparks in the imagination. Deep talks over red wine that make time flow by at such unbelievable speeds that it’s like a scene in a movie where everything but the couple at the table is a blur?

Let’s be brave and start with the 36 questions that lead to love, get vulnerable and discover where we are dark, serious, and silly. The more I trust, the more playful I get. Let’s communicate, find out what we’ve both learned about making relationships work and hold each other to those standards.

So, come at me with the curiosity of a kitten, my lady, my queen of hearts. Let’s sail into the horizons of each other, and see what storms we can weather.

I am waiting for you.

I can’t wait.

Sincerely Yours,
M.

Log in to write a note