chicken soup (first edit)

trying to write something like this is such a process. trying to weed out the important from the personal. attempting to develop a plot, something worth reading. my experiences with cancer are such a huge part of who i am. and i’ve always felt it was important to tell the story. and so here i am sitting, trying and trying to tell it. and it won’t come out. i write stupid sentences that always start with some little anecdotal message. a slogan for surviving. but there is no slogan to surviving.

so i start to think about cancer. and i wanted to wrtie about running. because ever since my diagnosis, i have run from all difficulties. always, i am a coward. and people say i’m brave, that i pick myself up. but that is a lie. the only hard thing i’ve ever done is leave jason. everything else was easy, i always choose the easy way. but how is that  lesson? hey, i survivied, and now i’m a mega-coward!

then i was thinking about my happiness is… calendars. every year the ABTA comes out with a calendar. where brain tumor patients submit artwork displaing what makes them happy. i’ve been published in this calendar twice. and i thought, this is it, i can write about what makes me happy. but god, how boring is that to tell people what makes me happy?

so i sit, and i think, and i’m being all writers blocky. being pissy with adam because i’m pissy at everything. pissy mostly because i got in too deep too fast and he’s not making time for me the way i want him to. but being pissy none the less. adding myspace friends and being pissy, when i hear this lyric "silence like a cancer grows"

and then it fucking hits me. surviving cancer is all about ending the silence. it’s about the allan friedman t-shirts, and the out of line jokes, the care pages, the calendars, glow bug, not giving blow jobs, its about saying HEY! i did it, fucking listen to me.!

or maybe it isn’t that exactly, but god, awareness feels so good.,

i would not have made it, through silence. everything i do, is somehow a result of me being a cancer survivor. every single moment that has happened has happened because i had a brain tumor, and those moments all make me, me.

Log in to write a note
July 10, 2008

I was thinking that the important IS the personal, because you’ve lived through it. And hearing the personal stuff makes one more sympathetic to the person rather than the idea. You’ve got a good thing going.