Reading List 2009

January

1. Sick Puppy by Carl Hiassen
This novel was a very quick read. Engaging too!

2. The Memory Keepers Daughter by Kim Edwards
I finished this in record speed. I loved how it cronicled over a 25 year span. The end was perfect.

February

3. The Frailty of Flesh by Sandra Ruttan

4. What Burns Within by Sandra Ruttan
These books were obviously not that great because I didn’t even remember reading them until I sorted through my books half a year later and found them. Ugh.

March

5. The Red Syndrome by Haggai Carmon
My first book of the Leisure Thriller book club. It was pretty good and I plan on reading more of this authors work.

6. Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah
I was assigned to read this book for a class. At first I was not excited, but by the end I really loved this memoir.

7. The Apocalypse Directive by Douglas MacKinnon
This was very entertaining to me, just because it pointed out how crazy some religions can be.

April

8. Betrayal by Paul Carson
This book was alright, a lot of suspense for a quick ending.

9. The Kite Runner by Kahled Hosseini
One of the best novels I have ever been able to get my hands on. I read this book with insane speed.

May

10. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
Not what I expected, but a great book none the less.

11. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Piccoult
I am not a fan of school shooting stories. The book ended very quickly.

12. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
Some books never get old. I think this is the third time I’ve read this book.

13. The Appeal by John Grisham
The ending was horrid and unexpected. I don’t remember other Grisham novels ending this way.

14. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire
I saw the Broadway musical, Wicked, by this author, so the book was disappointing. Reading Wicked later this year.

15. The Giver by Lois Lowry
This is such a classic from my childhood. It meant so much more reading it as an adult.

16. Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry
The librarian told me this was a companion book The Giver. I was pretty surprised because when I was a kid I wrote the author and she replied saying that the story of The Giver was left up to my imagination. This book wasn’t all that I expected for a follow up.

17. Messenger by Lois Lowry
This book finally told me what was happening with Jonas, the main character from The Giver. It was a good ending to a series I never knew existed.

18. The Scarecrow by Michael Connelly
This was a great follow up to the poet. Also found out that Connelly has another book coming out in the fall!

June

19. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Kahled Hosseini
This novel would have been so much better if I hadn’t read the kite runner first.

20. Wicked by Gregory Maguire
This book took me forever, and I honestly did not like it. I was surprised because I LOVED the musical

21. The Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly
In this book, my two favorite Connelly characters merged into one book. The excitement of this story was overwhelming, this is a must read for Michael Connelly fans.

July

22. Mercy by Jodi Picoult
Since reading this book I’ve been having very vivid dreams. It certainly has made me think about some very serious relationship issues.

23. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
I have never been so disturbed by any novel. I wanted to throw up. Beautiful story, horribly tragic.

24. The Associate by John Grisham
I waited for this book for a very long time. And was surprised with how quickly I finished it. Typical Grisham ending.

25. Vanishing Act by Jodi Picoult
This novel ended exactly the way that I had hoped. I was not disappointed.

August

26. A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon
This book was so unlike his other work. It really didn’t have a plot. Was supposed to be British humor, but I just found it boring.

27. The Constant Princess by Phillipa Gregory
This is the first books of her series about the Tudor court. I am very excited to read more!

28.The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory
One of the best books I have read in a very long time. Amazing narration.

29. The Boleyn Inheritance by Phillipa Gregory

September

30. The Queens Fool by Phillipa Gregory
This book dragged on for a lot longer than I expected. Two more to go!

31. The Virgin’s Lover by Phillipa Gregory
Faster than the previous…nothing compares to the Other Boleyn Girl

October

32. The Other Queen by Phillipa Gregory
The novel that got me interested in this series. Not what I hoped for.
Overall, the Other Boleyn Girl was the best.

33. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Piccoult
I have never had a novel hit so close to home. This books leaves me in shock.

34. When You Are Engulfed In Flames by David Sedaris
Wholly worthwhile, this author is a keeper.

November

We moved to Rhode Island this month and I did not have any time to read. Oops!

December

35. Twighlight by Stephenie Meyer
I know, I know…I how dare I read the latest "teen" novel. But it was good, and I can resist good, so I read the remaining three books in the series.

36. New Moon by Stephenie Meyer
This books was just entirely sad. Parts of it made me so sad, but in the end I was just happy.

37. Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer
I hated some of the main characters for the majority of this book. Read it in just a day or two, dreamt about it constantly

38. Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer
Normally I hate when series end, but this one was okay, it was well written. I wish she had written Edwards version of Twighlight

39. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
This book is not what everyone hyped it up to be. I found it difficult to follow and to have a very unexplicably sad ending.
 

Log in to write a note
February 15, 2009

way more than ive read so far.