Brain freeze

Being upset is one thing, being anxious is one thing.

But when you realize nothing has been exciting you for days in a row, that the weight in your chest is only gettig worse, and that not even getting hobby work done is enough to lift it off, you’re like: Oh no, not this shit again. 

One year ago, when I was so depressed that I couldn’t even deliver a sentence properly, my dad told me that the reason why I was getting sick was my job. That a lot of people just get sick to the core being employees. What did you want me to do? Believe him? Even though I knew I’d be better off self-employed eventually, and this was never a job I was supposed to keep forever, I still had to save up some money, I still had to work that job for a while. I had to stay convinced that my chronic injuries were the number one factor of my distress, and that even though work often got me very upset, it was all because I didn’t have the right attitude or enough emotional detachment.

A few months down the road, I started to realize that a lot of inevitable situations at the office triggered traumatic responses in me. Probably for having been emotionally abused growing up. And I knew there was nothing to do about it except bite my teeth and walk through the day. I know I will never feel like myself at work. I will never be able to take the big waves of activity because I get brain freezes, literal amnesia, and I can’t multitask to save my life. I can’t take the calmer periods either because they get me extremely lethargic and all I’m left to do is overthink all day, which is like the most toxic thing there is.

There are the times I get very little urgent work to do all day, so all I do is pretend to work, and then go home crying because of the guilt. I know I should stop pretending and do some stupid shit like organizing the e-library, but it’s like asking a drinker to stop drinking. There are the times I do my best and still mess up something, get scolded and literally flip out because I can’t even do anything proper while giving myself 100%. There are the times I mess up because I was lazy about something, I get scolded, and guess what I flip out too because I feel like crap. Everytime I hear my boss screaming at me, or anticipate that she will, wether she’s in the right or not, I get flash thoughts of hurting myself. I don’t have control over these thoughts and I know I just have to let them be and move on. I can’t even count the times I rushed to the bathroom to cry.

It’s been five years and nothing got better. I keep doing the same stupid shit and I keep having the same fucked up emotional response to anything that goes wrong.

 

I still have to hold on for at least six months. Right now I feel really, really bad. But it’s probably this bad because I’ve had to much time to overthink how my boss will flip out for everything I did wrong while she was on vacation. Tomorrow I will wear a tight bun, neat trusers, a straight face, get there early, and face the storm. She will finally get to scold me, it will be behind me, and maybe I will fell somewhat normal again.

Log in to write a note
August 16, 2020

Your boss shouldn’t be yelling at you either! Hope you can save up to get out of there and into a healthier place. Take care of yourself!

August 16, 2020

@mlle she’s not yelling as in spitting out your lungs. She’s just speaking harshly. Maybe she’s right. Either way I feel terrible

August 18, 2020

podcasts in one earbud at the desk helps me tbh. & dont feel guilty that your job is easy, feel blessed that it isnt back breaking labor for hours and low pay. plan a vacation, write a blog… or a diary 😉

August 20, 2020

@icanttypewithnails

My job is not easy. It’s not physical but it’s still hard. I’m an administrative assistant with a slow brain. I’m forgetful, ever-confused, when the job requires a lot of quick wit and memorization, and multitasking. I’ve tried to find tricks for 5 years but nothing works. I’m like an elephant in the middle of a ballet, like a dyslexic person at a spelling bee contest.

It’s just that periods of total crazyness contrast with periods of low activity. And doing personal stuff on the side actually make it worse. I become even more lethargic and end up messing up the few tasks I have to do. Plus I got caugt…

August 20, 2020

@majorlemon-lili hahahah thats so random but im an administrative assistant too, what do you find the most difficult? maybe i can help.

August 20, 2020

@icanttypewithnails

Wow haha

It’s very hard to describe it to someone whoisn’t with me all day. But like…I have a “man brain”. I suppose I’m not dumb because I had good grades growing up, but I can only focus on one thing at a time. Plus I can’t focus if I don’t find it interesting. I will miss extremely obvious things. It’s like I have an impairement or something. Another example: one thing happens, and it requires me to write multiple reminders for sub-tasks like  “look for train tickets for Marseille”- “check if the NDA was signed” – “add the Financial ID form to the Tender file”

So I write one reminder: “look for train tickets for Marseille” , the phone rings, I take the call cause I have to or something catches my attention. I go on with my day without writing the other reminders. So I never do the stuff.

I start to look for train tickets for Marseille. I prepare my e-mail for the travel agency. I write “return Friday 20” instead of Friday 21, despite re-reading everything several times. Lots of back and forths ensue.

Then I have to work on the Tender file. Every task requires many sub-tasks, nothing can be done once at a time because you wait for other people’s answers about stuff. So everything gets started and everything is pending. So I have this big Excel file to organize my tasks, very clean with color coding and everything. My eyes still get lost, I miss stuff, I forget to write down stuff I did, I check the VAT number paper and it says it was done in 2020 so I’m like “good”, and put the VAT paper in the file. But then my boss tells me the paper has to be even more recent, and not in a nice way, in a way that means “you’re crazy!!”. My brain said “good” by itself, I don’t even remember WHY I didn’t ast myself if there wasn’t a more recent version. She asks me WHY. I say IDK.

She says “it’s a question of organization!!!”

I think “BUT I DO the damn organization thingy :'(” and go cry my shame away in the toilets.

 

I have no fucking clue my friend