A busy couple days

I’ve been keeping pretty busy these last couple days. Yesterday I visited with my mom in the morning. I brought Tito with me and he enjoyed running around in the sun with my mom’s dogs. It was nice to get him out a bit. 

When I went home I decided to make cherry cobbler. After I got that in the oven I started some laundry. After my cobbler came out I decided to make the ham and hashbrown casserole to bring with me to work so that I had something to eat and also to share with Marty if he didn’t already have something picked out for dinner. I got that done and finished the laundry and headed to work. 

Marty needed help making several phone calls to handle a financial matter as well as help in fixing an order that got messed up with Best Buy. He started out in a good mood and then just kept on drinking. He drank more than usual, even going as far as to have a shot of tequila on top of all the beer he was drinking. By dinner time he was half out of it. He didn’t want the casserole. He wanted left over hamburger, sausage and macaroni salad from his Father’s Day picnic. Lucky for me he quit drinking right before dinner but he was still slurring quite a bit. I hate when people are like that. Thankfully it was already time to go home. I was a little worried leaving when I did because his son was sleeping and didn’t get up to visit with his dad which then leaves Marty alone until the night person comes in to take care of him at 10:30/11:00. He insisted he was fine and that he’d wake his son up in another half hour. I hope he did. 

His mood turned depressive when he’d been a few beers in. He feels awful that his 14yr old son is taking the role as caretaker more and more often. He doesn’t want that for him. Not that any parent would want their son to have to deal with that especially at his young age. He needs to hire someone who can stay the night or somehow entice Lilly to move back in and maybe just hire someone else to take over her normal shift. If she’d even consider moving back in. They both tell me they are in love with each other but that they end up saying something stupid that hurts each other and then they feel awful that they’ve pushed one another away. This has been an ongoing thing for a few years or so. They each tell me that they’ll get it together one day. They just don’t know when. 

Anyway, today’s a day off. I visited with mom this morning, came home and swept my kitchen and dining room. That hurts my hips real bad so I got myself a sandwich and water and sat down to get the pain to ease before I go back in there and mop both rooms. That hurts even more so I don’t know if I’ll get both rooms done or not. We’ll see. I never did eat dinner last night so I’m going to heat up the casserole for dinner tonight. Then after dinner I am taking Tito and going to go visit with my dad for a little bit. I missed him on Father’s Day because I wasn’t feeling well and was tired plus he was going to be busy with my brother’s. I feel I need to spend some time with him. 

Tomorrow night I’m back to work again but it’ll be interesting. Apparently on Friday nights starting around 4:30/5:00 Martys sister comes over and they drink beer and reminisce and order food in for hours. I asked if I’m even suppose to still be there but he says yes. I’m sure I’ll write about it in a day or 2.

Take care my friends!

Log in to write a note
June 24, 2021

OMG. I do not like drunks, they scare and anger me. That casserole sounds yummy!

June 24, 2021

You always make such amazing food. <3333

Tequila after beer? Hope he’s all right. 🙁

June 25, 2021

You are doing a lot.  Don’t over do it.  I haven’t had cherry cobbler in years!  It sounds super delicious.

June 26, 2021

Hope you had a good visit with your dad!

June 28, 2021

Well, it sounds to me as if you’re caretaking an alcoholic. I hope that being there a few times a week isn’t too burdensome for you. I can totally understand why he drinks — as a disabled person he has to rely on others and that must be humiliating — but drinking really isn’t the answer. I hope he appreciates having you around to help him and to converse with him. You are a breath of fresh air, I’m sure.

June 28, 2021

@darkmadonna Thank you! He does like having me around. I agree with you that drinking isn’t the answer but who am I to tell him what to do, you know? I have hinted to him that he may want to drink less so he is more lucid for his son.