Being Neighborly

I have lived in my house now since September and have only said Hello in passing to my one set of neighbors. I like to get to know my neighbors when I live somewhere, especially if it’s going to be long term. And I hope to live here forever. So today I saw them outside as I came home from my mom’s and I struck up a conversation. They are a very nice couple! I got to know their names and we chatted about their jobs, school, dog,  and whatnot. I made sure to let them know they can stop over anytime if they need anything or just want to talk. I hope to get to know them better. 

Anyways, just left moms. We sat out on her porch again in this beautiful weather. I was complaining that my son was supposed to put my living room air conditioner in yesterday but he ran out of time because he had to go to work. He put my bedroom one in thank heavens! It was wonderful last night with the air on. But today it’s going to be 88° and I need my living room one in. I called my brother’s to see if they could put it in today if they aren’t working and they rushed right over and put it in for me. I’m so happy, it’s getting cooler already.  My brothers are such a big help and so dependable. I’m lucky to have them and so happy my one brother is sober again. Hopefully for good this time!

I didn’t make my Cajun Chicken Pasta last night. The heat made me not hungry and uncomfortable so I saved it for today. I invited my brothers to dinner but they have a lot to do today including bringing my niece back to her mom’s. So I guess leftovers go to mom and dad again. 

I guess that’s it for now! I hope everyone stays cool and has a great Memorial Day!

Log in to write a note
May 25, 2020

You ever hear that saying that, “Good fences make good neighbors”?  That could’ve been written about me.  I know my neighbors’ names and am friendly but I’m pretty private; which I know comes off as aloof.

Happy Memorial day to you!

May 25, 2020

@drama Happy Memorial Day to you too! I’m a very friendly person, always talking to strangers and making friends. 

May 25, 2020

All good.  I hope your brother continues to prevail in his sobriety.  It’s a prize in life like no other.

May 25, 2020

YEAH Air conditioning! I put mine in last night, it was getting ridiculous sweating on the couch. I’m glad you are getting to know your neighbours! I need to do that too.

May 25, 2020

What a nice gesture to engage in friendly conversation with your neighbors.  We are blessed that we have wonderful neighbors. All are very  busy but always friendly and there to help if needed.

So glad you finally got your air conditioners going.  They certainly make a difference in hot weather.  Great to have brothers who are handy and willing to help too.

Take care

May 25, 2020

Glad you got to talk to your neighbors. Enjoy your AC!

May 25, 2020

Yeah I like to at least say hi to my neighbors because you never know when you might need some help at some point.  And if you decide to travel then they will watch your home and call the police if need be.