Covid here, there and everywhere

My mom has had a cough for the last few days or so and her doctor put her on some cough medicine. However, now she has a sore throat but just on one side of her throat. I don’t worry about it because she gets a cough ALL the time because of her COPD. And she’s gotten a sore throat often as well. Her doctor wants her to come in tomorrow afternoon for a Covid test because she says these are symptoms of it. After I left her house I got a call from my daughter. She said she just found out that her and her boyfriend have been exposed so they are on their way to be tested today. She wants to get back to work but can’t go until she’s tested negative. And now she wants me to quarantine because I was around them on Saturday. I’m not worried about it because I wasnt directly exposed like they have been and yes Jodie I know it’s still possible. I need to see if I can qualify for a test because I still need to get some more groceries for a couple of meals and for what I’m making for Thanksgiving. My daughter said there might not be a Thanksgiving dinner because they have ALSO been exposed and one of them refuses to be tested because she doesn’t believe in Covid. She thinks it’s big conspiracy.  So that’s up in the air for now. She’ll keep me posted about that later. Around here you can’t just go get tested. You have to have a really good reason and if you’re not directly exposed they don’t usually test you. Not unless you are showing symptoms. So I probably won’t be getting tested. We’ll see. It seems Covid is all around me right now!

I called my brother today to try and set up a coffee date where I can sit him down and talk to him about him helping me pay off my car before my son’s Social Security money and child support stops. I’m almost paid off and would have been by that binge if we had gotten another stimulus check but since it won’t be here by my son’s 18th birthday I’m going to be in a tight spot. I figured out my budget for that time and I can afford all my bills and food… except for the car payment. I can’t afford it at all. So I was going to see if my brother would pay the last $1200 or if he would make the monthly payments for me for the last 3 and a half payments after my son’s money stops. I only thought of asking him because he put me in this position to begin with. My other car would have been paid off well before the money stops but when he totaled my car and I had to get another one not only did that cause my payments to go longer but it also caused me to pay $220 more a month on my car payment. I used to only pay $115/ mo but now it’s $337/ month. If it was only still $115 I’d be struggling money wise but I’d be able to pay it. I can’t come up with the $337 though. He didn’t want to go to coffee, he wanted to talk right then. So we did! My brother told me it’s going to be hard for him to help because he just got his truck and pays $300/mo for that plus his other expenses such as rent and car insurance and food. He said though that he will figure it out and one way or the other he will help me because he knows it’s what he owes to me not only because of what he did totaling my car but also stealing from me and it’s part of his steps paying restitution. He was at work when we talked and said he’d go home and work out his budget and get back to me but that he will do something. I appreciate it and I wouldn’t even ask that he make restitution if I wasn’t going to be in this situation. He’s my brother after all and he was sick when he did this stuff. He’s clean and sober now and deserves everything he has. I hate to even ask this of him.

Today I’m not doing much. Just staying in and staying warm watching Blacklist and spending time with my dogs. I’m putting BBQ ribs on for dinner and making baked beans and baked potatoes to go with that tonight. 

I have an awful sore neck today. The muscle from my shoulder up the side of my neck is tight and so sore. I can barely move it. I put the heating pad on it st my mom’s but it didn’t help at all. 

That’s all for today! Have a good day!

Log in to write a note
November 16, 2020

CPOD can contribute to covid symptoms and because you have the same genes as your mom you need to get tested too just because you have been exposed. And also unless you have type O blood the chances of you getting covid is a lot higher….

I can’t understand how people can’t or are not worried about getting covid because it really dibilitates you for the rest of your life and because the experts don’t know it’s even more scrier. And the part of your family that think this virus is a conspiracy or a joke should pray they don’t get it because it will be the worst. There have been people who got it and was in ICU and died but before they died they realized just how real this virus is.  And we just had a male 30 year old in perfect health just died the other day of covid.

November 16, 2020

@jaythesmartone It doesn’t debilitate EVERYONE that gets it then or for the test of their life. And it’s not my family that isn’t taking it seriously. It’s my daughter’s boyfriend’s brother and his wife. I can’t get tested because I wasnt directly exposed. And just because I have some of the same genes af my mother doesn’t mean anything. She has COPD because she’s been a smoker since she was 13. I’ve never smoked in my life, never even tried it so I won’t get COPD. I doubt she has Covid anyway. 

November 16, 2020

“rest” not test.

November 16, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

Actually yes you can get CPOD and you can also get asthma and diabetes….

https://www.healthline.com/health/copd/non-smoker#:~:text=Even%20people%20who%20have%20never,make%20it%20hard%20to%20breathe.

Question? I thought Trump said anyone who wants a Covid test can get one free of charge when ever they want?  here we can get tested if we want.

November 17, 2020

@jaythesmartone I knew you could get asthma and diabetes. I did not know about the COPD but I highly doubt that will happen to me.  And no you can’t get a Covid test whenever you want. You have to meet a criteria to get one.

November 17, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

I would think just being exposed is a good enough reason….Then at least you can self isolate before you actually do get sick?

BBQ!!! I’ll be over there at 6. LOL!!! Get well soon.