Excruciating pain

I know I’ve written here about my narcolepsy with cataplexy before but let me remind you what cataplexy is. You lose all muscle control suddenly and stay that way for a short time, for me a few minutes. I haven’t had problems with either thing since I started my medication back in 2013, at least not that I recall. However yesterday morning I was about to step down my concrete porch steps when suddenly I buckled and twisted my ankle and went down the 2 steps to scrape open my elbow, finger and really busted up my knee. I couldn’t move for a few minutes and noticed my ankle felt broken. I finally got into the house and cleaned myself up. I had had aspirin the night before which I think is why I was bleeding horribly. My jeans were soaked through from my knee. I wrapped my ankle and drove myself to the ER. Turns out I fractured it. I was put in an aircast and given crutches. I also had to have a tetanus shot. The pain is excruciating! My ankle is purple and so swollen. I can barely walk on it and I can’t use the crutches. It’s too difficult with my other pain in my back and hips. I have to follow up with my foot doctor Saturday.

Onto another topic… Lilly is actuality being cordial at work now. I got there the other day and she was there and we talked to one another with no problems. I have no problem being cordial at work. It’s called being an adult! She’s taken awhile to come around to it though. I still don’t trust her and our friendship is over. That’s sad because I thought of her as my best friend for many years. I never thought she’d do the things she’s done to me. 

Thanksgiving dinner plans are coming along. My daughter just messaged me yesterday to tell me that her and her fiancé will be joining us which I was hoping for. We’re eating at around 5pm which is fine by me because it’ll give me time to do my cooking at home before going there. 

I did more Christmas and birthday shopping yesterday. I still have a bunch to get but I’m getting there. I usually don’t buy for anyone other than my kids and my parents but this year I also am buying for my brother’s, their kids and my one brother’s girlfriend. Also buying for Marty and his son Kevin. Most is being bought online but I do need to hit Walmart for some more wrapping paper, boxes and small stockings that I’m filling with Bath and Body Works items for a few of the women. If that doesn’t work out then I’ll just put them in gift bags. Now I just have to figure out where I’m spending Christmas dinner. That hasn’t been discussed yet. 

I guess that catches me up pretty much. Till next time… take care everyone!

Log in to write a note
November 18, 2021

Oh my goodness. You poor thing. Hoping you are feeling better soon and on the mend.

November 19, 2021

Oh no, I’m sorry about the fall! I hope the pain is easing up a bit.