Facebook drama

I use to be very active on Facebook. However the drama that gets started on there irritated me so slowly quit interacting. Now I get on there to look at my pitbull groups and I’ll check and see if there’s anything important posted in my timeline but I RARELY ever post anything myself. Yesterday I was so happy to see some of the changes Biden is making already that I posted a brief comment just that I was so happy to see the changes he’s making and that I was so happy to be rid of Trump. And what do you know, my brother decided to berate me because he thinks Biden is awful and he supports all Trump does and has done. I told him several times that I’m not debating him on this stuff. I refuse to debate. But he kept going on and on and on. It got really irritating! That is precisely why I don’t post on Facebook. People like him always wanting a debate or some kind of drama. I don’t care if someone has different views and opinions than me. That’s fine, we’re all entitled to our own opinions but don’t berate me and act like an asshole. I finally just ignored him and told my mom that he was pissing me off. He called her a little later and she told him how I felt so he posted a gif of a cat trying to give me a big hug. He said he loves me despite my views. That’s all he needed to say from the beginning. My best friends also support Trump ( which surprised the hell out of me) and I told them that we can all have different opinions and it’s ok. They liked that. That’s what I expect but what I got was berated by my brother. I won’t post my opinions on Facebook anymore. I’ll stick to doing that on here, lol. 

My daughter got me my car back late last night. She ended up working until around 9pm. She started at like 6 or 7am. That’s a long day. She’s very dedicated to her patients though and goes above and beyond for them. I’m proud of her. 

My Incredible Apple Cake came out really good. It’s more apple, less cake. I was surprised when I saw the amount of batter compared to the amount of apples. Basically you’re just coating the apples in the batter and then baking them in a springform pan then when the 25 minutes is up you mix an egg, sugar and melted butter together and dump it on top of the cake and bake for 10 more minutes until it’s golden brown. It tastes so good! I tried it while it was still warm… yummy! I’ll definitely make it again. 

Today I’m making seared pork chops, roasted sweet potatoes and peas for dinner. I have nowhere I have to be today so I’m home for the rest of the day. I’ll most likely watch Masterchef junior… which btw I never watched before because I thought kids couldn’t really cook good sho I stuck to only watching the adults. I turned it on briefly and was so surprised. These kids cook better than me and even better than some of the adults I’ve seen. Now I’m stuck on watching all 7 seasons of it. Then I’ll return back to the rest of Charmed. I love my cooking shows! I’ll end this here. I’m sitting with Tito all curled up in my lap. He’s so sweet! My heart is just so full of love for him! Have a good day everyone!

Log in to write a note
January 22, 2021

You can do two things to minimize comments on FB. The first, of course, is block people. The second is to create a group — I call my “adult” — and only put people in there who won’t give you grief. That keeps your brother as your friend, but he can’t see anything that isn’t “public.” I created this when I ran a youth theatre and the kids wanted to be my friends, but not everything I posted was appropriate for their ages. Hence, the “adult” name. It’s my default group and works very well. If someone ticks me off, out of the adult group they go!

January 22, 2021

@solovoice That’s a great idea!

kat
January 22, 2021

I always leave your posts feeling hungry!!!  I don’t post much on FB either

January 22, 2021

when people post things you don’t care about why don’t you delete them so you don’t see them anymore? When people post things that upsets me I just ignore them and say nothing. I think your brother should just know when to keep his mouth shut and say nothing. And just for the record Solovoice knows what he is talking about and is pretty much an expert when it comes to a lot of things.

January 22, 2021

@jaythesmartone My brother didn’t post something. I did, he responded to it. And he’s family, I won’t delete him. I already said Solovoice had a great idea. 

January 22, 2021

I don’t understand this still supporting trump thing. There are still trump signs in my neighborhood. I don’t post anything on facebook cause I’ll be berated. It makes me feel sad.

Your food sounds so good.

January 22, 2021

For the past year or more I’ve only posted memes on facebook. I’d delete it, but my business depends on it.

January 22, 2021

I don’t post on FB but maybe twice a year if that.  I keep up with my family there but many of the grandkids have moved to other social media sites.  He could have just scrolled on through because dontya know if you don’t have anything nice to say then don’t say anything.  I love pork chops and have not had them for a long time,  They have to be cooked just right to be on the crispy side but still moist in the inside.  😎

January 22, 2021

@tracker2020 I wouldn’t say my peek chops are crispy, they’re just nicely seared with Adobo seasoning and some pepper. That’s how I like them best. 

January 22, 2021

During the election I had a few sorority sisters posting about how great Trump was, so I merely unfollowed them. That way I don’t have to see their BS. They can, of course, do the same with me and I think they probably have. Life is too short to engage in bickering on social media — what a complete waste of time and energy!

January 22, 2021

Well I’m as guilty as sin when it comes to social media screaming. I took myself off facebook because one of my co-workers was a Bernie enthusiast who basically said I was a double-hitler for supporting Elizabeth Warren in the primary. I’m trying to really, really remember that A) no one has ever changed anyone else’s mind about anything. B) Even if I did, it’s not like that person or I have the power to do anything other than vote. C) There is a living, breathing human being out there on the other side of the conversation.

January 23, 2021

I don’t like debating on Facebook either. I refuse to do it. Usually if someone tries to start, I just don’t engage or do my whole rainbows, sunshine, peace and love thing that shuts people up pretty quick. lol.