Headache from Hell

I have the worst headache right now. It started early this afternoon and I’ve taken something for it but it hasn’t gone away. So I took something again even though it’s too early for it. Sometimes you gotta double down to get rid of it. 

I’ve kept pretty busy today. I had to run to the store this afternoon for BBQ sauce for my dinner and while out decided to pick up Taco Bell for lunch.  I was really hungry. I didn’t eat dinner last night because that recipe I tried was awful! I took a few bites trying to just convince myself to eat it just to get something in my stomach but I couldn’t. So Taco Bell hit the spot this afternoon and will hold me over til dinner. Tonight I’m making Sweet and Spicy Brown Sugar Pork, Mac n Cheese and Green Beans. The roast is almost done. When it’s done you break it apart and coat it in your favorite BBQ sauce. The roast is rubbed in several spices and brown sugar and browned before going in the crock pot for 5-6hrs.

I went a little while ago and picked my mom up from the hospital and brought her home. She’s barely walking.  I’m surprised they let her go so soon. All because of Covid. Normally she’d be in a nursing home for recovery right after leaving the hospital and be there for several weeks but that’s not happening because of Covid too. So she’s home and going to have my dad and I help her as much as we can and I think they’re going to be sending home health care over for awhile. Then I’ll be taking her to physical therapy down the street for awhile. She’s already getting by better than her last hip replacement… she couldn’t walk AT ALL after it for months. It’s because of the generation of her bones and joints. It’s not a basic hip replacement like most people get. If I continue to follow in her footsteps the way this disease is going I’ll be having the same surgery around the same age she has had them. So far I’ve hit the same milestones as her… pain starting in my early 20’s, pain clinic, surgeries and procedures through these years, had Cervical Cancer at 19yrs old, hysterectomy for her at 28 and me at 31yrs old, even had our kids around the same ages. She was 16 when she was pregnant with me and I was 17 when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter. Though they is just by coincidence. It’s nothing hereditary like the diseases we have. I really hope that mine doesn’t progress as quickly from here on out. I don’t want to get hip replacements. 

Anyway after I got her home I had to go to the pharmacy to pick up her scripts for pain. I had to wait nearly a half hour there for them. Now I’m home and waiting on hearing from my son for his daily ride home and back and to make the rest of my dinner. That’s all…

Log in to write a note
July 28, 2020

I bet if you lost some weight and got your BMI down to what is considered normal range you won’t need the hip replacements because there won’t be any extra weight on your joins or bones.

July 28, 2020

@jaythesmartone I still would because I have a serious disk degenerative disease that progresses as the years go on. There’s no fixing it and weight loss won’t stop the progression. I’m happy the way I am, not ever going to diet and can’t exercise. 

July 28, 2020

Sorry about the headache!   Hope your mom has a speedy recovery.   They say hip relacement now a days can be a very serious operation but also very quick recovery.  Will she be doing physical therapy?

Interesting about all the health similarities you and your mom have.   Its nice to be able to relate to each other on that stuff.

I had a cervical cancer scare at 26, ended up with cryo surgery which took care of most of the pre cancerous stuff.  Super scary though.

July 29, 2020

@fortunes_fool_21 Yes, she’ll be doing physical therapy pretty soon. 

kat
July 28, 2020

hope your headache is gone or better!

July 28, 2020

I am getting over the age rainbow now, broke or hip replacement. The elderly everyday something new hurts. I had my hysterectomy at age 38, when my daughter was 9. I wished I had had that done right after my daughter was born. No cancer-did total hysterectomy. Best thing ever….

July 29, 2020

Hope dinner was much better this time!

July 29, 2020

@queenofegypt It sure was!