It’s been awhile

I find that I’m so busy anymore that I don’t keep up on here as well as I use to. I always read my friends entries every morning but finding time to write is another story. I’m seriously considering giving up my diary. 

So what’s been going on here? My foot/ ankle is healing slowly. I’m in a boot still and the ankle is still quite swollen. The bruising is starting to diminish and when I take the boot off at night I find I’m walking alot better. It’s still very sore in the right side of it but not excruciating anymore. I go back to see the foot doctor on Dec 3rd.

Thanksgiving was ok. Originally there was suppose to be alot of people at Marty’s but it ended up just being me, Marty, Lilly, Lilly’s dad, my daughter and her fiancé. The food was ok I guess. Tina cooked almost everything. Her mashed potatoes were awful! I swear she didn’t put any butter, sour cream, milk, anything in them. They were hard and just… yuck! Her stuffing had no flavor, the turkey was dry, the ham was good and bad. I found juicy good slices but Marty’s was dry and hard. Lilly made the sweet potatoes which is usually my favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal. Well I think she just dumped the cans of yams in the pan with the juice and topped it with marshmallows. There was no butter and brown sugar. My favorite dish was the green bean casserole… that I made! There were a few more dishes but I didn’t try them. They didn’t appeal to me. I swear I just need to buck up and cook the meal next time. Tina made a few desserts and they were alright. They tasted good but weren’t “set”. My pumpkin pie and pumpkin pecan pie was very good. I almost didn’t try them because I’ve been avoiding sweets but I finally have in and tried a little of everything. Now I’m right back to eating healthier. 

Marty has been getting on my nerves so bad lately. I hate whiny, woe is me shit especially when the person brings it all on themselves anyway. He’s been drinking alot more this past week and in his drunkenness he whines to me about all his problems. It takes all I have in me to grit my teeth and not tell him it’s all his doing. He says his son isn’t getting any better but he doesn’t follow the counselors advice on anything. He tells her he will, he tells me he will… then he doesn’t. When she asks the next time how it went he lies to her and makes up readings why he couldn’t do it. The real reason always revolves around him wanting his drinking and smoking time. Following her advice would take him away from that a couple hours out of the day. He refuses to do that. He complains to me about money, yet he’s giving Angel money again. He complains to me about his credit card debt yet he sends Lilly out and allows her to go shopping on it for herself. The other thing that bothers me alot about him is his selfishness. Everything has to revolve around him… what he wants when he wants it and if we can’t do it he feels like we’re being selfish. Tina has to have surgery on her teeth/mouth and has been in extreme pain lately while waiting on a surgery appointment. She’s told Marty over a week ago when her surgery is scheduled. He can’t find someone to work for her that Friday so he’s mad at her. The Thursday before surgery she wants to get done with him by 3 so she can go pack her bag for the hospital and lay down and rest because any movement of her head or even bending alot causes her lots of pain. So he went and scheduled an appointment at 3:20 Thursday afternoon. On top of that when the appointment is over he needs her to take him to the bank to open a new checking account that he can use strictly to pay caregivers. He doesn’t like ATM cards because he’s been stolen from so many times so he won’t get one on his current account. Tina refuses to take anymore checks or deposits to her bank account because she’s afraid she’ll get caught by welfare and social security having money coming in that she’s not reported. So she suggested he get another account and only put enough into that account every week to pay all 3 of us so we can use an ATM card on that account to get cash out that can’t be traced to us. I have no problem getting the pay the way I do now. I don’t want cash. I prefer the direct deposit he does for me. Anyway back to my point… he told Tina he’d go Thursday after his appointment to go open that account which is going to get her home probably around 5. She specifically asked to do these things earlier but he doesn’t want to get up any earlier so she just has to deal with it he says. I think that’s awful! He won’t bend when it comes to when he gets out of bed unless it’s for him, for football parties where he can drink all day with his friends. Otherwise, screw everyone else. 

Enough complaining about Marty. I just will keep my mouth shut, do my job and go home everyday until I can’t take it anymore I guess. 

I’m gradually getting my Christmas shopping done. I only have to get a few things and pick up more paper, tape, tags and small stockings or gift bags. I’m so excited for Christmas! I don’t know where I’ll be eating that day but I do know that I’m not eating Tina and Lilly’s food again. 

Well that’s all everyone. Take care. I’ll let you know soon whether I’m staying or letting the diary membership go. 

Log in to write a note
November 28, 2021

I hope you don’t leave!  Even if you post only sporadically, it’s always nice to catch up with you.  Please stay!

kat
November 28, 2021

people tend to be far needier when they are drinkers 🙁

 

November 28, 2021

I hope you don’t leave us! I’m sorry Marty is so selfish. I think all of you should stand up to him as a united front. Him asking so much of Tina right before her surgery is wrong. I’m also sad about your holiday meal, which sounds dreadful. I hope your Christmas meal is much, much more delicious!

kat
November 28, 2021

ps you are loved here

November 29, 2021

I look forward to the bold italic entries!  Reading your friends and keeping up with them with the chance to write yourself or not I think it is worth every penny.  You need to do what’s best for you.  Just saying the best thing to do is stay.  😎

November 29, 2021

I don’t always comment, but I read all your entries. I love reading you. You will be missed if you go! And ugh, I’ve had a bad Thanksgiving like that…really kind of ruins everything…I hope your Christmas dinner is way, way better!

November 30, 2021

It’s good to hear from you! I hope you stay. I wish I had time and energy to write every day, but even if it’s just once a week or once every other week it’s still worth it.