New Friends

Yesterday was a day for meeting and getting to know my neighbors. I might only meet the one couple that I talked about yesterday but I also met the neighbor on the other side of me. He is a really nice guy, living alone with his cats. He works midnight’s so that’s why I don’t see him much during the day… he’s sleeping! We ended up talking for about an hour. And then when I took my dogs out back to go potty my neighbor behind me started chatting with me. So I’m making new friends, which is really nice because I’m almost always alone. My friends work most of the time so I don’t get to see them often at all. 

Today I went and sat on my mom’s porch with her. It is such a beautiful day again. It is 86° right now, going to be 90° this afternoon.

I left there and had to take my son to hang out with his sister (on his dad’s side). She’s a bad influence and it always worries me when he hangs out with her. I’m afraid if what she’ll pull him into. However I can’t keep him away from her, it is his sister after all. Right now she’s popping a lot of pills and she’s always high on marijuana… always! And on top of it she drinks often. She’s 20yrs old, dropped out of school but got her GED afterwards and she lives with her grandparents who took her in when her mom and her moms new husband kicked her out. I just hope he’s smart enough not to do anything stupid!

I’m just sitting with my baby (my dog Tito) and watching TV waiting on my lunch that’s in the oven. Not much to do today, just starting cool in the house. I still haven’t made my Cajun Chicken Pasta yet but am tonight for sure. Last night my son offered to make me a chicken quesadilla from his work for dinner so I took him up on it.

Oven just dinged so I’m off to eat lunch. Enjoy your day everyone!

Log in to write a note
May 26, 2020

I would not be allowing my son to go visit anyone who is immediate family who is a drug addict no matter what the relationship is……But then I am really anti alcohol and anti pot and any other drugs.

May 26, 2020

@jaythesmartone He’s practically an adult. I can’t stop him. 

May 26, 2020

What’s for lunch?  Mmmm….cajun chicken…..

May 26, 2020

@drama Lunch was just frozen southwest chicken taquitos with sour cream and salsa. The cajun chicken pasta was good. 

May 26, 2020

Very nice.  So promising of a good summer, yeah?  Maybe you all can start a neighborhood community and have a block party over the summer.

May 26, 2020

@elcreature I doubt that. I don’t know enough of the neighborhood and our local police are assholes and they’d cause me problems anyway. 

May 26, 2020

@mamaqueenie518 well that sucks.  Do the PD in your area have any community events?  Ours do.  They do “coffee with a cop” about once a month where anyone can meet up with them to chat.  I think it’s very good but I haven’t attended.  So far so good with your neighbors though.

May 26, 2020

@elcreature No the cops don’t do anything like that. They do shop with a cop at Christmas with kids that don’t have much money. That’s about it.

May 26, 2020

I’m so happy for you. It sounds like you are getting comfortable in your neighborhood.

Hoping all works out with your son after visiting his sister.

Take care

kat
May 26, 2020

Sounds like you have some good neighbors! You are so nice I am sure everyone who meets you…. loves you!

May 26, 2020

Its a sign of a good mom that you trust your son enough to know hes smart enough to not get mixed up in any trouble w his sister. Good on you ma.

Also great you are meeting some neighbors always nice to have good neighbors as an outlet.

May 26, 2020

Sounds like a lovely day.