Preparing for surgery

Mom gets her surgery tomorrow morning. So today I am helping her prepare for surgery. I went to her house this morning and visited. We got her pills ready for tomorrow morning, the ones she’s allowed to take and I brought home a load of her clothes that are loose and comfortable as well as her sheets to wash so she has them for after surgery. She has a hospital bracelet that she has to wear during surgery so they know her blood type for transfusions if it would come to that. I am holding that for her till we get there so she doesn’t forget it. We have to be there at 7 am so I have to be up bright and early to take her. 

Other than that there’s not much of anything going on here. Same shit, different day! Tonight I’m making Pulled Pork Taquitos for dinner. My son likely won’t eat with me. Even last night I made what he wanted, the Spinach and Feta Stuffed Chicken Breasts and he basically came home, showered and wrapped it up to take with him. He only comes home to shower and change then heads right back to work. I’m not mad, I just wish he was home at least to eat with me occasionally.  But when I think back to when I was a teenager I was rarely home too. I doubt I even ate with my family more than maybe one a month. I know this is normal. He just grew up so fast! We use to be attached at the hip I swear! He was my baby and no matter how old he gets he’ll always still be my baby. I have to adjust to this new normal just like I’m adjusting to the new normal of living in the time of a pandemic. 

Anyway that’s all that is going on in my life for now. I am gonna go and make my lunch and relax till I have to drop off my mom’s laundry back to her. I hope everyone is having a good day!

Log in to write a note
July 26, 2020

I told my son once he has moved out he is to come for dinner at least once a week just so we can play catch up and see each other….Even when he was a teenager he always made sure he was eating dinner with me just because it’s better and more tastier.

July 27, 2020

Hope everything goes well with your mom’s surgery!

July 27, 2020

Best of luck to your mother.

My son was never around as a teenager, either. Now I cant get rid of him lol.