Some thoughts

After reading another’s entry on OD I got to thinking. I’m happy on my own… for the most part. I love that I  can do whatever I want, whenever I want and I don’t have to get another’s input or work around their schedule. I love that I don’t have to worry about what I look like because there’s no one to impress. I love that I don’t have to put up with someone else’s bad habits or deal with any of my pet peeves that they do. But I do miss the friendship, the partnership, the company (sometimes) and even the cuddling sometimes and kissing. However I have absolutely no interest in sex anymore. In fact it makes me feel anxious just thinking about it. I know that a relationship includes all the above and I think that is part of the reason why I want to stay alone. I couldn’t give that part of myself to anyone. There’s one man I love that I would consider a relationship with but I don’t think it could ever work out. He’s never been one to be all about sex, he’s been more the cuddle,and kiss kinda guy. But I think it would still be something he’d want. Right now I don’t have to worry about any of that because he’s a workaholic and has no time for me. It use to bother me alot that he can say he loves me so much but not have the time for me and him to have a life. But now it suits me just fine because I cannot commit completely to him anymore. I don’t know how or why I am anti sex now. I use to be a very sexual person. I’ve had many partners and up until about 2 years ago I loved having sex/making love. In fact when I hit 40 my sex drive was insane! I actually just ended up in a friend with benefits situation and it suited me perfectly! How did I end up like this? I guess it’s best I am alone. 

Anyway on to something else… Today I went to my mom’s and we sat on her porch in the cool comfortable air. It’s was getting ready for the rain and thunderstorms. I sat there and ordered myself the much needed clothes that I have been waiting on money to get. I also ordered my son his clothes last night so that’s done. I guess it’s best to order them instead of going to the mall to shop and get them there. I was going to do that but with the reduced capacity in most stores it’s hard to get in and shop. There are long lines and waits. I can’t stand in line for any length of time or my pain kicks up.

I also talked to my tattoo artist about what I want and what my son wants and found that they ate both extremely expensive! He does great work but boy is it pricey. But then again as I learned when I was young…a good tattoo is never cheap and a cheap tattoo is never good! I have to put away more money to add to what I have to get our tattoos. I told him to give me about 2 months. He said he’s booked into July right now so we might want to schedule soon so we don’t have to wait real long. I just want to make sure we have the money to get them and you never know what’s around the corner that will cost you. I have some important things to get for the house first, then we’ll see what’s left. 

Last night my smothered burritos with gravy can came out great. Very filling! I sent over 5 of them to my parents today. My mom ate one while I wad there and loved it. Tonight I’m making my favorite Bbq Pineapple Chicken Quesadillas tonight. I make them at least once a month. They’re so yummy!

Otherwise today I have not much to do. I have to run the vacuum and fold my son’s clothes that are in the dryer from yesterday. Other than that I just relax today watching TV and working on a puzzle. Kind of boring!

Oh and my daughter said the store called and said she can pick up my porch swing today. She’ll drop it by today. Now I just have to get someone to put it together for me and go buy the cushions. Then I’ll be spending a lot of time outside reading and relaxing. 

Well that’s it for today! Enjoy your day everyone!

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2020

This is an extremely honest entry and very interesting to read.  Possibly to me that is because I lived with a man I loved from age 17-73.  He died in 2014, and I was plunged into a life that I’d never lived before.  Had never lived as single person in my life.  It was a good while after grief lessened that I realized there were advantages to not sharing a life with another.  Wake and sleep on my own schedule.  Meals I like. Things scheduled that I want to do and are not doing as a partner to someone else who really wants to do something I don’t care about.  So many things that I don’t think I want to ever seek another relationship.  Not because I didn’t have a wonderful life with my husband…I certainly did…but just finding it so much easier to live this way as I age.

You’re going to love that swing!

May 29, 2020

@sago Wow, that’s a long relationship! Unfortunately I never found someone to stay with that long. Awhile ago that’s all I ever wished for was for someone to face a forever relationship with. Now I just find being in my own to be very comfortable. Just me and my dogs… my son is here occasionally but is mostly gone. He moves out completely I’d say within the year. 

May 29, 2020

question? Why can’t your son save his money and get the tattoo himself?  Just considering how much it is and when you pay for both of them you might not have enough for something else?  Just wondering.

May 29, 2020

@jaythesmartone He could and he’ll probably add to what I have and we’ll both put our money together. I still like doing things for my son and daughter when I can. 

May 29, 2020

And I plan on getting the other things I need first. 

May 29, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

I know but just because it’s so expensive.

Question? Does your son need written consent to have a tattoo because he is not 21?

May 29, 2020

@jaythesmartone He just needs me to sign for it and give his state ID. Here you can get tattoos on your own at 18, not 21.

May 29, 2020

He already has 1 tattoo now also.

May 29, 2020

Good for you!  Not many people understand being happy without a partner.  I always get looks of pity or questions but I totally get what you’re saying.

May 30, 2020

There are many like you that have romantic feelings but no sexual attraction. It’s normal and the LGBTQ recognizes it as simply being asexual. I’m so glad you can see the benefits of living the life you live. There are perks and downsides to just about any situation.  <3

May 30, 2020

@celestialflutter My daughter is asexual. We’ve known that since she was an early teenager. As for me I never thought that title fit me since I was very sexual most of my life. I just within the last couple years felt no sexual attraction. Does that really fit me?

May 30, 2020

@mamaqueenie518 I’m not sure. I think it’s possible as we journey through life we may go through different phases. But I would think you would have to figure that out for your own situation. Do you feel it applies to you?

May 31, 2020

@celestialflutter No, not really. I feel like it would be wrong to take that title because I wasn’t born like that. I believe being gay, transsexual, asexual, etc… is not a choice but is how you’re born. 

May 31, 2020

@mamaqueenie518 True, but I’ve experienced friends and acquaintances going through different seasons of their life for whatever reason. Some have gone from gay to hetero and vice versa, whether they were trying to figure themselves out, or dealing with peer pressure, family pressure or social pressure. I just want people to feel safe no matter what age they are or whatever season they are at in their life to explore or say they think they might be different than they thought.

May 31, 2020

@celestialflutter I feel the same way. I want everyone to feel comfortable with whatever they feel.