Unexpected Expenses

I took my car in yesterday to replace the tire and was told that my other front tire needed replaced immediately also otherwise was told not to drive until it was replaced. So I messaged my son and he told me to have them do both tires and he’d pay for it. I told him I’d pay hom back on payday but between my son and his friend/boss they refused to allow me to pay them back. After I told the mechanic to go ahead and do both tires he came back out shortly afterwards and said that not only did my son break the valve on the tire, he broke the whole sensor which was another almost $100 to replace… or I could go with the other valve with no sensor for no additional cost. It would just cause the tire pressure light to stay on all the time. For the time being I told them just to do that. I didn’t have another $100 and I wasn’t going to allow my son to pay even more. They said my back tires also need done before winter. And I need an alignment, which my daughter’s boyfriend had also told me. If I can manage it on payday I’ll get the alignment and back tires done. The sensor can wait even though the light being on is frustrating! I’ve been going to this place since I was old enough to drive and most people where I grew up also went there so I really trust them. They also told me the prices are going up on the tires but if I come back at the beginning of the month and bring my receipt they’ll borrow l honor the same price I paid yesterday. As frustrating as this is I’ll be glad to have it all done. I didn’t realize just how bald the tires were. 

When I got home last night I ordered my favorite salad at O’Charleys to be delivered. It really hit the spot after all that. 

I went to my dr appt this morning and then visited with my mom. When I got home I threw my clothes in the washer and started on my homemade banana cream pie. It takes alot of steps as you’re making your own pastry cream and whip cream from scratch. I’ve only ever done the pastry cream one other time but it came out good. I’m now waiting on it to cool so I can make the whipped cream and assemble the pie. Then it has to set overnight. My dad will really enjoy this… as long as my mom doesn’t eat it all. Now I’m catching up on the newest episodes of The Great British Baking Show then I’ll check out one of the shows my kids suggested. 

Tonight for dinner I’m making the Ham and Hashbrown Casserole. I don’t have much else going on so I’ll end this here. Everyone have a great day!

Log in to write a note
kat
October 20, 2020

it is far safer to drive a car with the same tread on them too so that was a good move getting both tires replaced anyway

October 20, 2020

Question? Shouldn’t you be taking your car in to the mechanic every 6 months or so to get everything checked so you don’t get all this expense at once? I use to get my oil changed every season at least and the breaks checked and the tire pressure and the tires rotated and all the fluids changed….

Maybe it would be cheaper to get all 4 tires changes to new ones so the tread is all even?

October 20, 2020

@jaythesmartone I take my car in when it needs taken in. My dad does my oil change every year because I don’t drive enough to need it any more often than that. My dad does most the work on my cars when needed. And I’m getting the back tires dinne in a couple weeks then they’ll all be new. A couple weeks won’t make a difference. I didn’t have the money for 4 new tires at once. 

October 20, 2020

@jaythesmartone You obviously aren’t well informed about oil changes in newer cars and when you don’t drive that many miles. It’s every 15,000-18,000 miles when using a good oil that your oil needs changed. I don’t drive even that many miles in a year. My dad is a mechanic, he checks my oil every several months, adds what’s needed and checks to see if it needs changed… it doesn’t. I take good care of my car, trust me. I never have any problems with it. The tires were just old and ready to be replaced otherwise it runs perfectly. 

October 20, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

Actually you don’t give me enough credit….and it’s the checking of everything every three or four month that keeps the car well maintained.