Vet visit

I took Tito to the vet this morning for those sores or whatever they are. The vet told me what they are but I can’t remember the word he used. He said that they are common in younger short haired dogs such as boxers and Pitt bulls and such. He gave him a cortisone shot that will help them to go away in 3-4 weeks and also stop him from itching so bad. He says that it won’t take them away in 1 in 1000 dogs and that if by the end of February they aren’t gone then they’ll have to be surgically removed. I really am hoping that’s not the case. I was so happy to see that the training I’ve been doing with him on his barking is really working. The last time I took him to the vet he barked the whole time and when the visit was over I had to put him in the car while I checked out so that we could hear each other. Today he only barked a couple times and that was in response to a dog first barking at him. He was mostly quietly sniffing around. Afterwards we went to my mom’s briefly where he played with my mom’s dog and also didn’t bark. She said he’s like a different dog.

I left there and had to go to get my daughter. She’s borrowing the car today and Thursday. We went to Olive Garden for dinner last night. She had a newer dish,  Asiago Tortellini in alfredo sauce and I had the Tour of Italy. We both had Peach bellinis and water to drink. Our waitress was awesome! She was so outgoing and friendly! I made sure to leave her a great tip. 

My daughter and I talked alot last night about the Covid vaccine. Hers was the Moderna vaccine. I told her how I felt uncomfortable with the fact that we don’t know the long term effects since it hasn’t been out long enough to know. She is very smart, very educated and has followed everything that’s been written about it. She agreed that no, we don’t know the long term effects but she explained what all was in the vaccine and explained it well enough that when it becomes available to me I might get it. Whereas before I said I wouldn’t. I still think it came out too quickly but apparently they’ve been working on most of it for many years, just the covid part is new. So I’ll decide for sure when the time comes. I feel I’ve stayed healthy all this time and I’m comfortable with the precautions I take that it’s not a big deal to me. 

This afternoon I’m starting my chili for dinner. I make a HUGE pot so there will be leftovers for tomorrow as well as a large container for my parents, a smaller container for my son and another container to freeze for next month. I’ll get all the dishes done right before I make it and there will be nothing I have to do later tonight. 

I think the shot made Tito sleepy. Since we’ve gotten home he’s been resting and sleeping. He’s all finished up in the chair with me. Such a sweet boy! Anyway that’s all that I have for today. Hope everyone has a good day today!

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2021

I think the cortisone will take care of it.  You must be so proud of your daughter.  And what a kind soul to share all that chili, one of my faves.  😎

January 19, 2021

@tracker2020 My mom taught me her recipe for chili growing up and I gradually made a few changes to it and everyone loves it. So I always have to dole it out when I make it. 

January 19, 2021

My sister’s dog had sores too. They surgically removed them, but more developed later. For him they were harmless and she only had them removed so he wouldn’t pull on them or hit them in certain spots. I hope Tito will feel better soon! <3

January 19, 2021

@soldis Thank you. That’s pretty much the same reason why they’d have to remove them on Tito if they don’t go away. 

January 19, 2021

I love chilli