Worries alleviated

I took my car into the Kia dealership yesterday morning to see why the engine light was on, why the airbag light was on and to check on the recall on the engine. I’d been really worried about it all especially because I just bought the car in May. The salesmen lied to me about things so I imagined I’d have to fork out alot of money to fix these problems. I sat there for a total of 5hrs! Their chairs were the worst, not comfortable at all! Anyway, as luck would have it my engine light was on because a critter chewed through one of the wires for the engine solenoid something or other, the airbag light was on because a part needed replaced that was under warranty and the checking the recall they found that my engine is fine and they loaded an update that was due. The only thing I had to pay was to replace the wire and it was $311. I have to take the car back when the part comes in for the airbag and that’ll be free of charge. All that worry for nothing much at all! I feel so much better! They did a full car inspection and found that everything else was great. They did agree that my tires bec replaced by winter which I knew and told them when I went in. And they said routine maintenance such as spark plugs needed done soon but that’s no big deal. 

On my way home from the dealership I stopped off for a strawberry fields salad at Wendy’s for dinner. I found that after eating it I was still hungry but I ignored that. I assume in the beginning of this change of eating habits I’m going to still be hungry because the portions are smaller and food not as filling as what I had been eating up until now. I imagine eventually my body will adjust to it though.

The other night at work went pretty good. He didn’t get too drunk but was on his way there. His friend sent him a message that said “Happy 14 1/2 year paralysis”. He said his friend has dark humor. This got him thinking about how much his life has changed and all he’s lost in the process and that was his excuse to drink more and have more shots. I didn’t have to do much beyond the usual getting him his drinks and smokes, emptying his catheter bag and feeding him. I did empty his dishwasher and had to wash and exfoliate his hands. He has these calluses that need smoothing out every so often. I don’t mind doing it except that his kitchen is so small it’s hard to position myself in a way to reach his hands and the sink because his chair is so big. It really strains my back. I got out of there about 15 minutes late but that’s par for the course when he gets to drinking alot. 

Well I guess that’s all for today. I have a couple things to do before heading out to pick up a salad for dinner and head into work. Take care my friends!

Log in to write a note
July 2, 2021

You do a lot for him.  Even if it is only the drinks and smokes you are always there on time and doing the job at hand.  Way to go on having this job.

July 4, 2021

Glad the car stuff worked out!