Where Are All The Jobs?

Unemployment rates in America are climbing with what seems like no end in site.  My home state of Ohio has been one of the hardest states in the country that has been hit.  I know of quite a few friends who are out looking for work right now, and their families are suffering because of it.  Thankfully, I have a fairly secure job right now, but you never know when that could change.  That’s why I’ve been working on a home business on the side.  Right now, it’s not making a lot of money, but I’m preparing for the future.  

With so many people out of work, where is a good place to look for jobs?  College students are asking the same thing.  I know there is a ton of negative press about the health care bill, but there’s hardly a better industry to go into.  It continues to grow like crazy and the boomers aren’t getting any younger.  If you are able to throw on a pair of Landau scrubs or these, then get into the medical profession.  Nurses and medical assistants are in high demand right now.  This is a great place to find work.  On the other hand, factory jobs are getting harder and harder to come by.  Those people hoping to make wooden dowel rods for the rest of their lives find themselves out of work.  The auto industry is hurting as well.  Education is the key to get out of this mess.  If you are looking for a job, do all you can to get education.  Do it online if you have to.  There are still jobs out there, but you have to be aggressive in going after them.  

Log in to write a note
October 15, 2009

I hear ya. I’m in Indiana, Elkhart County to be exact, which has a huge problem with unemployment because of all the laid-off RV workers. I have a Bachelor’s degree in computer science and sometimes I feel lucky to have my minimum-wage job as a cashier.