3/14/19

Life keeps on keepin on. And its good. My little people are becoming big people. God how I love them! D has found her tribe. They went to see Capt Marvel this week. She had been anticipating it for so long. Planned it all out with her girlfriends. Proud of her! She didn’t like it as much as she hoped to but it was still a fun time for her. Next – and I believe final – installment in the MCU is End Game which comes on at the end of April. Leading up to it she planned out on a calendar a Marvel movie marathon for the 4 of us. We’ve been watching all of them. And Marvel Jeopardy. She made a board complete with printed categories and answers. Lot of work but she was so invested. In other D news she is on the high honor roll at school. Not a surprise to us. She works really hard. So proud of her!!!! Can’t say it enough!!! Then there is S. I am equally proud of him. In different ways. But he is having struggles that D never had. He is as intelligent as her – if not more so in some ways. But he is having emotional issues that are interfering with his academics. Most of his teachers have emailed us to say that he is not working to his potential. We have tried different things but nothing has really helped yet. H and I are meeting with his team of teachers next week. TBC…….

3/19

Weekend was good. The kids and I had monday off for staff days at both schools. I didn’t have to go to staff day at my school because TA’s are exempt from 1 of them per year. Something in the contract says that. I dislike being part of a union. I don’t know why exactly. I think it’s the bad taste that was l was left with when I worked for the state back in 00/01. Just so bureaucratic. It seems to take so long to get anything done. When you have people who work at widely varying levels of engagement it can take what seems like forever to get anything accomplished. It was very hard for me to understand the system and very hard for me abide by it. Hence my short 2 year stint. But here I am working for the state again – in a different capacity. I don’t have to deal with the capitol but I have to abide by restrictive rules and regs. I could go on. But I am glad to have a job. Not the most fulfilling but it’s ok. I’m looking forward to the summer. Hate to wish the time away, but I kinda can’t help it.

Saturday D and I drove to my nephew’s fiancee’s wedding shower. It was a 3 hour drive but it was not a hard drive and we passed the time by listening to an audio book. “Dying to be Me”. Great book. She and I had really good discussions prompted by it. Love that girl so much. I love our relationship. I am confident that she feels loved. Even if I am not always confident in my parenting skills. It’s constant on the job training. Same for everyone. So at the shower I saw my SIL’s, neice, BIL brought his fiancee. This is the toxic BIL. I’m always happy to see him and his fiancee. She is a lovely woman. As I have said before he is best taken in small doses. The shower was very nice. The bride to be got lots of nice things to set up the new home.  The shower venue was a very cool eclectic coffee house, retail space with funky eclectic merchandise and a party space upstairs. Industrial chic type place. D enjoyed the shower despite her negative attitude going into it. She was not looking forward to spending her Saturday in the car and then at a party where she was the youngest by far. But she was a trooper and enjoyed talking to her aunts and cousins. She won one of the shower games which made it even a little more fun for her.  She was also missing her Saturday swim time. We have been taking her to a private swim coach. After a disastrous foray into swim team she has not done any regular swimming. The team was uber intense and she was so intimidated. I felt so bad. She loves to swim. I am trying to find a program where she can swim with peers in a non-competitive atmosphere. So for no luck. So we pay a lot of money for her to work with this coach. We have told her that we are happy to do it in the short term but that we can’t maintain it. She understands.  I wish that I loved swimming as much as she does. I would take her a few times a week and we could swim together.  It’s such great exercise.  But it’s just not my thing and I can’t seem to make myself.    Sunday we had friends over for dinner. I made a pot roast which I had high hopes for but it fell a little short. Not as tender as I would have liked. Pretty tasty though.  I didn’t do corned beef and cabbage this year. But I did make soda bread. Everyone seemed to enjoy that.

Another week and weekend have flown by. I’ll get up to date one of these days.

Log in to write a note