Church

I am sitting in my car writing on my phone so this will be short and sloppy I’m sure. I am waiting for D while she is in her writing class. It is in the city so I usually wait the 2 hours down here rather than schlep back to our ‘burb. There’s a great coffee shop down heres that I love to hang out in. I am parked on the prettiest block of our small city. There are 3 large old churches Catholic, episcopal and congregational. They are all stone and stained glass. The streets are angled and treed. In a concrete canyon this is a refreshing place. More and more these days I find it is the old architecture that I appreciate more than what the church stands for. I appreciate the love and labor that was poured into each structure. And I appreciate the intended use. But I can no longer subscribe to one religious belief. There are too many for me to think that there is 1 “right” one. Bells just tolled the 1:00 hour from one of the steeples. Very pretty. In fact the bells just woke me from the cat nap I just drifted into. Time for that coffee I guess. Oh there goes a different chime! Loud!

Log in to write a note
March 24, 2018

I love pretty buildings! Especially churches! There’s something so peaceful about them.

April 2, 2018

The area sounds beautiful!