glasses

I have new glasses. It’s been 1 day but I hate them. The frames are cute and I like the way they look. But this is my first attempt at progressive lenses – or any type of bi-focal glasses. I have the typical far-sightedness that comes with age. I have also been experiencing some near-sightedness. Up to now I have been wearing cheaters for reading and just sitting a little closer for meetings. But I’m over the constant putting on/taking off the cheaters. So I thought progressive lenses would be the way to go. So did my optometrist. Well, 1 day in and I’m having a hard time with them. I feel like the field of vision is so small.  Like there is this tiny sweet spot. And I sometimes feel like I’m drunk when I’m walking.  Fortunately I have up to 30 days to get them right free of charge.~~~Was feeling a little bit of the after lunch sleepiness starting so I got my afternoon cuppa. Feeling a little on the edge this week. Some manic days and some down days. I know part of it is hormonal and weather related. I think I’m tired as well. I have been running pretty consistently. I ran Sat and Sun and this week I’ve gone out Mon, Tues, today.  Wed is supposed to be yoga for D and I but it was so nice outside that I couldn’t bring myself to go to the yoga studio. And D had a lot of homework. S was trying every angle to play fortnite. I made him go outside. Unfortunately the neighbor boy who I don’t care for is hanging out with him again. I have no problem with them playing basketball in the driveway but I do not want that child in my house. And S is not to go in his. I do feel sorry for him in many ways. But I have to protect my own child.  After the boy posse broke up and they went their separate ways for the evening I made the kids dinner. While I was cooking I had them rake and pick up the yard a bit. You would think I had asked them to paint the house! I get so tired of their push-back. But I know it goes with the tween/teen territory. I usually gently remind them that we are a family and we all have to pitch in to make the household work. There are times that I forget about the gentle part and just lose my shit on them. I was somewhere in between last night.~~~H was out on a 7 mile training run. His back is bothering him a bit. He swims today so hopefully that will help his back. Five weeks from Sunday is his triathlon. Go-baby-go!

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2018

I’ve had progressive lenses for more than a year now. I can count on one hand how many full days I’ve managed to wear them. They make feel half-drunk when I walk and, bc my bridge is so sensitive, it doesn’t take any time before I’m developing a headache. They are great, when I can tolerate them though. Hope you can get used to yours!

My daughter is much the same when it comes to chores. She will beg, borrow, steal and make promises if I agree to let her “do it tomorrow” or her “next day off school / work”. As if!  🙂

May 10, 2018

I still get push back, but mine are adults.  The Man works hard but resents it and is such a whiner about it………I had the same problem with my lenses, so this time I got separate glasses for distance and reading….it has it’s own problems.  I am trying to decide if I want to go back to the progressives.

May 10, 2018

I hate progressives. I have trifocals with the line. I don’t care how it “looks.” It’s a lot easier to manage when you can see the actual line between close up and far away. With the progressives, I felt like I was always trying to find the “sweet spot.”