Mental Health Circle

This is what I have in my basket:

Diagnosed at 30 with mild depression after years of thinking I needed to “just snap out of it”. Yes I was told that to my face.

Still trying to resolve suspected sexual abuse by my brothers and possibly my father. Only vague memories of it. They did not physically harm me but something happened that still lingers with me.

Lingering effects of my father’s alcohol abuse when I was a child. I worked through a lot of that. But it never truly leaves you.

Diagnosed with ADD at the age of 53. Yes 53. So this is very new. After years of questioning just why in hell I couldn’t get 1 damn thing completed in my life, this diagnosis makes sense.

None of this has ever been hugely debilitating for me. I’ve never been hospitalized. I’ve had breakdowns but have managed them. I am on meds that have been very effective for me. I don’t always want to be on meds. I think of stopping sometimes. Not because I view them as any type of crutch. It is because I don’t like to put anything in my body that isn’t natural.

My heart goes out to everyone who carries a mental illness of any kind. It’s real. And it needs to be de-stigmatized.

Log in to write a note
kat
May 1, 2018

(hugs) My mother thinks it is shamed of my depression (I think) because of the way she acts… it is like it makes you weaker to have depression but in reality it makes you stronger

May 1, 2018

@chattykat I meant to add that to my entry – my mental illness has made me a much stronger and wiser person than I would be without it.

May 1, 2018

Thank you for sharing.

May 1, 2018

-hugs- Thank you for sharing <3 <3 <3

May 1, 2018

I agree wholeheartedly about de-stigmatizing it. I hope we get to the point where it’s viewed like diabetes instead of some ethereal sort of thing you can wave your hand at and it’ll be gone. We’re not there yet, but having grown up with a severely mentally ill mom, I can see we will get there. Maybe not in my lifetime. I hope so, though.

May 1, 2018

Unfortunately there are so many people in the world who either don’t want to or can’t be bothered understanding the differences we experience on a daily basis. I have reached the point of not explaining it anymore to them.Its enough just to manage your life and the lives of those around who care for you. But I’m pleased OD has opened this circle .Take care.

May 2, 2018

I totally agree with you…I once went to a psychrisits and within the first 10 minutes of the session he wanted me on meds. He was really old and about to retire….I told him I want to talk first and not take a bandaid solution…..I went to counselling and after three years I finally broke down to take pills….Today I am much better and I haven’t killed anyone yet….there were times when I did.  I have different issues but I do understand where you are comming from….welcome to my world.