TOTW#17

As far as I know I am of all northern European descent. My paternal grandfather came through Ellis Island from Sweden in 1923. We have a copy of the ship’s manifest. He is the only one of whom I have hard evidence of immigration. The rest I am told are from Germany, Denmark and the British Isles.  The British part is a fairly new discovery by my mom who did Ancestry DNA. I am proud of my heritage. It makes me sad that in today’s society that it is bordering on a crime to be of European descent.  Our country has a sad history of putting down those of different heritage. Let’s not repeat that. Let everyone be proud of where they came from. Lift each other up. Don’t put down that which you do not know. I personally don’t care where you are from. Learn about each other. Respect each other. When we tear each other down we all lose.

Log in to write a note