One bad thing

One bad thing about our everyday car being all electric.  We’ve gotten out of the habit of checking the gas gauge.  Fortunately the Jetta we use for our long trips beeps when we’re down to the last gallon.  Double lucky that the next exit had diesel.  Our 14 gallon tank took 13.6.   yeah. Happy we didn’t end up stuck on the side of the freeway!

Log in to write a note
March 17, 2018

So glad that you didn’t end up stuck on the side of the freeway too.  Yikes!

March 17, 2018

@wildrose_2 thanks.  Me too.  I’m especially happy we had been driving long enough that I didn’t think it was binging just because Parker, as usual, wasn’t wearing his seat belt.  😉

March 17, 2018

I’ve run out of gas exactly once in my lifetime… it was the first year I drove and I ran my car out of gas five feet from the gas pump and had I had to ask for help to push my vehicle up a few feet.  I thought I needed to know what running out of gas felt like… turns out it was a good thing, because I’ve known ever since that I didn’t want that experience ever again!

Now when it comes to breakdowns… I’ve spent a lot of time on the side of the road.  No fun… at all.

March 17, 2018

@bambamgotchatwice that’s funny and smart both that you did it on purpose.  Yeah. When I was young, drove old cars ( the only ones I could afford) and ignorant in the ways of keeping a car in good repair, I spent a lot of time on the side of the road too.