One Stone Two Birds

Monday I sat down with Parker to review, once again, when I would be writing and marketing my books.  He pointed to Tuesday which was marked 1:30 to 5:30.  Work

“Isn’t that when you’re going to help Kathy?”

I looked at him and shrugged.  He said nothing.  I said nothing back.

I couldn’t believe it had happened on the very first day, but it had.  But what could I do?

Kathy’s husband, who is in the first stages of dementia, needed round the clock care.  When she told me she had to have outpatient surgery on Tuesday I asked who would be watching her husband.  She didn’t know.  All of her own family had jobs.The only one who could help would be taking her to the surgery and back. She had home health care only two hours a day.

She needed help and I could give it.   I volunteered.

“I don’t know the time, yet.  The clinic is going to call me Monday to tell me when on Tuesday.”

“Just let me know.  I’m available any time for as long as you need me.”

Even as I wrote my new schedule on Monday morning,  I was thinking of Kathy.  I added a quick prayer that Kathy’s surgery would be scheduled for the morning so I wouldn’t have to break my promise to myself on my very first day.   I’d rather break my morning commitment. But it wasn’t scheduled in the morning.  I would have to be at her house at (do you believe this?) 1:30.

I had felt sick with disappointment.  Was I really going to have to confront this dilemma on my first day?  Staying true to my promise or not?

I decided it was a different test.  Would I still put God and service to others first?  I would.  That was the crux of it.   That’s the whole point of my books.  Put God first and it all works out.

Which it did.  I took my writing materials with me in case her husband didn’t need constant care.  Kathy put him down for a nap as I arrived.  And he stayed there, with occasional checks by me,  until she returned at 6:00.  I spent my work time both working and helping.

Good job, God.  One stone, two birds.

Log in to write a note
February 28, 2018

How wonderful that it all worked out for everyone 🙂

February 28, 2018

I’m glad it worked out. It was very kind of you to help Kathy out.

February 28, 2018

Hello, I’m thinking I read your diary back in the old days, before you went to West Virginia? You encouraged me to change my Diary Name and to make lasagna? And we met once in Kentucky? That was nice! I hope you’re doing well. (Rivercity–formerly UnemployedPerson.) Or if I’m wrong–well, I still hope you’re doing well! I’m glad you were able both to write and to help Kathy.

February 28, 2018

@rivercity We DID meet. I do remember you. How are you doing now? I will check your diary.

February 28, 2018

That worked out so well! I love it when a plan comes together!

March 1, 2018

Now isn’t that something how everything worked out in the best way possible. You were able to keep your commitment plus write. Smiling away here.

March 1, 2018

@wildrose_2 yes! Thanks I was smiling too