What’s for lunch?

Looking out the bedroom window at Parker’s garden, I see green beans, kale and cabbage with squash on the way.

The fruit trees are getting there but probably next year before we get plenty.  AND we have two pineapples coming along nicely.

In other news we’ve had 24 hours of heavy rain with another 18 to go.  The lake is up a foot.  No flooding fears yet since it has a drain and would have to come up 7 feet to be a concern.

I am being lazy today.  Getting ready for a two week trip to the West coast, is apparently best accomplished by sitting on my couch writing on open diary.

How’s your day going?

Log in to write a note
April 10, 2018

We’re pretty soggy here. Waves of rain and thunderstorms keep rolling in. Good day to stay in and watch old movies. You have a very impressive garden.

April 10, 2018

@gypsywynd Actually Parker has the impressive garden.  I read about gardening.  He does it. 😉  I”ll tell him you said that.

April 10, 2018

Delicious! What a great garden!

April 10, 2018

@marathonmama  Thank you!  I love that this one is so close to the house.  The garden in West Virginia was three times this size and up over a hill way back behind the house.  We needed walkie talkies since Parker basically lives in his garden.

April 10, 2018

You have a lovely garden. Wish we could get some of that rain. It’s going to be a long fire season this year since we didn’t have much snow this winter.

April 10, 2018

@stargazing If I could send you some of the rain, I would.  I hope you are safe this fire season. Our former house in California came close to being destroyed by fire last year.

April 10, 2018

@margaret_1 Thank you! How scary! Did you still own it then? My sister used to live in Colorado and the last year she lived there, they were evacuated for awhile. They got lucky and decided to leave after having spent most of their life there. We just had a fire east of here this weekend. Several people lost their homes, and all because someone decided to burn their trash on a wind advisory day. *sigh*

April 10, 2018

Seeing your photo cause me such garden envy. If you ever get rid of Parker, I’ll take him.

April 10, 2018

Kale?  Really?  On purpose?  I mean, I know it’s good for you and all, but …

*sigh*  I’ll never be an adult about eating what’s good for me.

April 10, 2018

@lachlanne yeah.  I don’t like it either but he keeps growing it.  Sometimes he slips it into a mixed salad chopped into tiny pieces.  I don’t really notice it that way.  But you can tell we don’t eat it by how much is out there!

April 10, 2018

@margaret_1 Hehe! I might not mind it terribly if it was covered in bacon bits a creamy salad dressing. 😁😉

April 10, 2018

My thread keeps breaking.  I am rethinking things.

April 10, 2018

What a pretty garden!  Truly, I think gardens are just beautiful because they are filled with good for you vegetables.  And you have fruit trees too?  And pineapple?  Wow!  Parker is great at gardening.  Will you tell him I really like his garden?

April 11, 2018

@wildrose_2 I will tell him.  If Parker could garden 24/7 he would.  In the summer he’s gone from 6 in the morning to 9 at night.  Also he likes to save seed.  He actually managed to grow strawberry plants from b seed.

April 11, 2018

@margaret_1 Nothing better than spending time in the garden as far as I’m concerned.  Thanks for telling Parker that I like his garden.

April 12, 2018

great well planned garden.

nothing wrong with a lazy day….enjoy. hugs p