Matti

Picture this: It is the 1988 Calgary Winter Olympics. You (or me in this case) are 14 years old with a massive crush on the “Flying Finn”… Matti Nykänen. This was me back then. I had a whole cubicle at Cummer Valley Jr. High devoted to him. Every inch of wall was covered with images of Matti. He was and still is my favorite athlete. 🙂

To jog your memory some pictures of him back then, and several recents.

Finnish ski jump icon Matti Nykanen dies at 55 | Globalnews.ca

99 Matti Nykanen Photos and Premium High Res Pictures - Getty Images

107 Matti Nykanen Photos and Premium High Res Pictures - Getty Images

Finnlands Skisprung-Legende Matti Nykänen ist gestorben

And a few recents…

Matti Nykänen In Memoriam

Matti Nykänen — The Movie Database (TMDB)

Sadly, he died. My Finn friend Outi told me… I looked at his Wikipedia page and I was devastated… but… sh-t happens eh?

He was my first real celeb crush.

RIP Matti ❤️❤️❤️

 

Log in to write a note
April 2, 2023

Aw I’m sorry to hear that, Sammy. It’s nice that he was able to make this impact on your life though.

April 2, 2023

@heffay He was simply the cutest skijumper out there. 🙂

April 2, 2023

I’m sorry to hear that your crush has passed away. When I was a preteen, one of the stars of a new Western TV show killed himself. Just the day before I’d declared how much I crushed on him to two of my friends. I remember feeling pretty bewildered.

I meant to tell you how much I’ve enjoyed your recent clips of Taylor Swift. Being a woman of a certain age I haven’t had much exposure to her, and I find that I really like her songwriting and sense of humor and, of course, she’s absolutely gorgeous and fun to watch. Thanks, Sammi!

April 2, 2023

@darkmadonna Taylor Swift is my favorite all time female singer… ❤️ I remember when River Phoenix died too. That was pretty bad too.

April 2, 2023

Aw. I’m sorry to hear of his passing. Certain celebrities definitely leave an imprint on our hearts. <3

April 2, 2023

@celestialflutter Mmhmm.. 🙂