Bittersweet

Aloha…

I treated myself to lunch at Khun Thai… garlic prawns and vegetables… excellent… and a good thing too… because when I left the restaurant and got in my car… the battery barely turned over…

The car is just five years old… but… a dying battery is a dying battery…

I drove further into town… stopped at the local Les Schwab dealership… and 30 minutes later drove away with a new battery…

All’s well that ends… (smiles)

Log in to write a note
February 16, 2019

Around here, five years is about all you can expect from a battery because we have such extremes in the weather.

February 16, 2019

@startingover_1 Yes… appears to be the same here…

February 16, 2019

I think five years is what they are supposed to last now. Stuff is not made like it once was. I just bought a new car and I am pretty sure it won’t last the 20 years the old one did. But, then, neither will I.

February 16, 2019

@bonnierose  Oh… what did you get…?

February 16, 2019

@mauijim Subaru forester. Just the right size for camping. It did hurt to sell the old toyota, though. Do you remember you loaned me money to buy that truck?

 

February 17, 2019

@bonnierose   Hey… a Subaru Forester is sure a nice ride… what fun for you…

Nope… don’t remember loaning you $$$… but if I did… or if I was… you would certainly be one of the few people that I would… (smiles)

February 16, 2019

Well hopefully you’re set for another 5 years atleast.

February 17, 2019

@cherrywine_1 Yes… seems 5 years is the max with a new battery these days…

February 16, 2019

Great you could get a replacement quickly

 

February 17, 2019

@tiffany_b Yes.. life in a small town… (smiles)

February 17, 2019

I hate cars. I just got through spending $3,000 to get my 21 year old car fixed. That’s all the money I had, so I couldn’t have bought another car that would’ve been any better than my old one. Might have had fewer than my 210,000 miles on it, but what’s done is done. Have I mentioned that I hate cars?

February 17, 2019

@shelyn  So… how do you really feel about cars…?  (smiles)

February 17, 2019

I had a battery die on me when temps were at 0. Windchill was -15. It was nighttime, had to wait 15 min til my mom came to get me

February 17, 2019

@serenadeoliver  Well… now I have some idea of what you went through and your frustration with it…