Single Awareness Day

Aloha…

Celebrating “Single Awareness Day” here on the southern coast of Oregon…

Also…I offer up two snippets of information:

The first is that this is the 161st anniversary of my adoptive state…

The second is to wish you a Hau’oli la Aloha (Happy love day in Hawaiian)…! (smiles)

The Hawaiian language doesn’t have a word for Valentine… so we just go with “aloha”…

Me ka Pumehana…

Log in to write a note
February 15, 2020

Are you fluent in the Hawaiian language?

February 15, 2020

@serenadeoliver   No I am not… but during my time on the island… I did learn to speak/understand pidgin… and studied the Hawaiian language just a bit…

February 15, 2020

Happy Single Awareness Day to you, Jim, a bit late.

February 15, 2020

@happytrails  And a Happy Valentine’s day to you as well ( a bit late also)…

February 15, 2020

Well, the word should be “Valentine”, since it was actually a last name 🙂

Happy belated V-Day do you!  😀

February 15, 2020

@thenerve   Like I wrote in this entry… The Hawaiian language doesn’t have a word for Valentine… and I don’t know of any Hawaiian with the name of Valentine…

February 15, 2020

@mauijim – Proper names don’t get translated. Take SMITH, for example. It’s Smith here, in China, in Greece, and in Hawaii  🙂

February 16, 2020

@thenerve  I appreciate your tenacity… but must remind you… that there is no “V” in the Hawaiian language… and as for names… my name is James… which is Kimo in Hawaiian…  Aloha oe…

February 16, 2020

@mauijim – It’s not tenacity, hoa, 😉 it’s a language fact. I’m a linguist 😉  I know there is no such letter in Hawaiian and a number of other languages… it doesn’t mean someone from either culture can’t pronounce it when hearing the word (also, a few languages, particularly some Asian ones, adapt the sound).  I was not contesting the fact there is no V, but highlighting the fact that Valentine should not be translated because it’s a proper noun/name (I’m sure you know where it stems from). Maikai! (I totally cheated and used Google translate there  LOL).

February 16, 2020

Single or coupled – I like the idea of Valentines Day.  I always get my mother a special card and flowers.  She really enjoys receiving them!

Sending lovely thoughts your way too.🥰

February 18, 2020

@trunorth  Mahalo nui loa…

March 5, 2020

Always thought Singles Awareness Day was invented by Kraft Cheese…..

March 5, 2020

@icarusknew   Aloha ha ha ha ha… (very good)

March 7, 2020

Checking as I do now and then…saying hi…wishing you “happy love” or thereabouts…friends and such even if it’s overdue.

March 7, 2020

@sago Mahalo… and the same to you…