No sleep till…

I’m going on about 2 weeks of subpar sleep. I wrote about our cat, Kooshie who we almost euthanized a couple weeks ago, and I happened to mention in that post another one our other cats: Gizmo.

Gizmo is a piece of work… to put it lightly. First of all, I can say with ZERO exaggeration that Gizmo is more difficult than our daughter when she was a newborn. I mean, NO exaggeration there. He wears a diaper because he’s had a spraying issue for literally his entire life. He is now almost 18 years old and we tried everything to stop the spraying including medications, and pheromone sprays, and god knows what else. I was at the end of my ropes and got pet diapers for him. Now we just try to catch him before he goes to the box so we can quickly take the diaper off. We also have to cover everything with blankets because those are easy to clean if he sits on them with a wet diaper during the night. So that’s been tough. We’ve been doing the diaper thing with him for a year. It’s better than dealing with the spraying. It still sucks though.

Now — because the spraying and the diapers weren’t enough — he has started whining and wailing at night. Loudly. Very loudly. It doesn’t seem like anything is wrong with him physically. There might be. I’m not a vet. We are taking him to the vet on Thursday to get checked out. Maybe there is something wrong with him. Maybe he is just an asshole. I don’t know. But until then. No sleep. I am so goddamn tired…

Log in to write a note
February 6, 2018

You are a saint.

February 7, 2018

@sleepygene LOL only here, but even so, my patience is wearing thin. 😂

February 7, 2018

I like animals, but I’m afraid Gizmo would have to go. I couldn’t put up with all of that. I wish you the best of luck resolving the problem.

February 7, 2018

@dlk082244 My wife has had Gizmo and Kooshie since she’s been in college, so hard for me to say we should get rid of him. Well, it’s become a little easier to say these days, actually. I guess we will see how it goes.

February 7, 2018

@mauteri I understand, very considerate of you.

February 7, 2018

The things we do for our pets. Hopefully they find an underlying problem that can be fixed.

February 10, 2018

I never heard of diapers for cats. Gizmo is lucky to have you as a parent. I adore cats, but I’m not sure I could deal with that.

February 10, 2018

@singer Gizmo is lucky I discovered (via Amazon) diapers for cats or he may have been made an “outdoor” cat. I really really really was at the end of my patience with this cat, and I swear, I actually like cats in general.

February 10, 2018

One of my older cats started howling late at night and the vet figured out that he was going deaf. During the day, when there’s plenty of sound in the house, he was okay, but at night, I guess it kind of freaked him out, so he’d howl. I ended up leaving a radio playing at night and it seemed to help. Good luck.

February 10, 2018

@wren He howls both day and night, but night is when it is most annoying (obviously). He got blood work done and waiting for results. If it’s not kidney issues (hey pees fine) it might be that he’s going senile. We lock him in a room on far side of the house and the seems to help (us).