Head Creeps

 I am sick now. I shall be spending Christmas sick and alone. Alas, or something. I had a hard time sleeping last night, and it started around then. Sore throat, no cough really but hacking up some nasty stuff. And a stuffy nose. I struggled through work. When my throat got dry, any little thing touching it would make me gag, and every action involving it started hurting, even breathing. I’m also losing my voice, which is less than optimal when one has to talk to people all day at work. I got some medicine after work, so hopefully that does the trick. All I have to do is make it through tomorrow, and then I’ll have a day off to recuperate.

I took some of the imitation NyQuil when I got home, and I don’t know what happened. I took the biggest regular dose, and after a few minutes I felt drunk. Off of cough syrup. I had to sleep it off, and I still felt crappy when I woke up. I felt extremely disoriented. Thankfully I hadn’t finished all my soup, eating the rest of that seemed to pull me out of it. If I feel like that tomorrow, I will have to miss my first day at work. There’s no way I could drive there in that sort of condition.

Lately I struggle to sleep, and once it does come, it’s nowhere close to enough. I start each day exhausted and somehow scrape by. I keep feeling like there’s nothing left, and yet I have to keep going. I can’t just give up and fall down. There’s no one to help me out, no one to pick me up. I simply have no other option. 

In retrospect getting imitation DayQuil might have been better. I think I’ll take another dose soon, and then hopefully it wears off by the time I wake up in eight-ish hours.

There was more to say, I think, but I’m having trouble gathering my thoughts. Time for another attempt at sleeping, hopefully all night this time.

Log in to write a note
December 23, 2012

Hope you manage to get decent enough sleep. Feel better soon!

December 25, 2012

I hope the sickness wasn’t completely horrible and you had somewhat of a Merry Christmas! I’ve heard NyQuil has that effect on people. For me it’s like drinking juice..doesn’t even take the edge off.