7/30/06

Rathlin Island viewed from the beach at Ballycastle, County Antrim

You told me … didn’t you, and often … each day is a gift, let’s make it that. And we did. There in the distance is Rathlin Island, and I got to walk there. After those impatient island girls served us our food. I asked them, “How do you feel about all these people coming onto the island?” because it is so unspoiled and beautiful, and there are so few who make their home there, and that ferry brings over a lot of people on each crossing. She told me it didn’t bother her, but she couldn’t understand why they’d sit around in the tea shop and not get on out and explore the island, that’s what they came to do, isn’t it? Well, we had, and we did.

Gifts, picked up like stones along that beach that seemed to be from a giantess’s necklace, polished over centuries, smooth and varied and beautiful.

There’s one stone I have tucked away somewhere safe. A special shaped stone. A gift.

Sponsor Me!

Log in to write a note
July 29, 2006

nice pic. when i use to be on here we didnt have pics. thats good that we do now.

I would love to go back to Ireland – I must organize it some. I’m surprised that you know Capercaillie – one of my favourite bands.

July 30, 2006

that picture just so made me want to be in the water *winks, love, & licks…

And Another One Folláin