Smaller and smaller

My field of vision. I am already sipping on the Red Bull. Eww. I hope it works. It will make it almost worth the torture of drinking the stuff.

The Dyke March was on the Saturday before the bit Pride Parade, here in Manhattan. We convened in Bryant Park and then made our way to Fifth Avenue. We marched down Fifth Avenue from the main branch of the New York Public Library (the one with the lions in front of it, very impressive edifice) all the way to Washington Square Park. Through much of the march it rained; but spirits were high, and we had cheerleaders, and a woman flashing us from a showcase window on the third floor of a building in the 20s (as I recall), a couple of topless marchers. A woman who was watching the march with her male companion handed us her umbrella. A woman who looked like Yenta the Matchmaker handed out punch in the Village. There were official Dyke March water givers too.

Flags and drums and flyers and every style known. It was a fine day, and it was really so empowering to feel part of such a large community.

I’m glad I got to have that experience. I wish I could do it more justice. But hey, it’s 4 in the morning, and way past my bedtime. I think K and Wanda are sleeping already. N should be joining them in that state soon. Maybe not … he’s calling …

Sponsor Me!

Log in to write a note
July 30, 2006

I’m in South Africa milady. lol I’d love to visit NY one day. *lick*

euwch – red bull. I hope it works for you.

I’m intrigued – the word ‘dyke’ to my British ears feels quite strange. To me it quite of has a derogative sense – I guess that I have only heard people use it as an insult. Not like lesbian or gay. It sounds as though it is as common a term in the US as gay? It makes me wonder – is it because our society speaks less of lesbians that male gays? I hadn’t realized, but I think so. Interesting – nowit is me whose mind wanders.

oh; I just realised how many typos I made. Shame on me.

July 30, 2006

lol @ mia.

July 30, 2006

i have still yet to go to a pride parade *sighs* one day. one day i’ll go. maybe next year in boston *winks* love & licksss…

July 30, 2006

can you imagine, though really?! me? not ever being to a pride parade yet?? hmmmf!

And Another One Folláin