The story returns

Helen went on to describe her days, tending to things and contending with the world to meet such needs as she and Maggie had. Izzy peppered her with questions on everything from how exactly one extracted milk from a cow to the logistics of transporting Maggie’s cloth to market. Helen answered every question, secretly entranced by Izzy’s fascination with the tasks of life at the cottage.

“One day soon, if I can manage to elude my many watchers, would you mind terribly if I came to see your cottage Helen?” Izzy’s face was grave, although her eyes burned with an intensity Helen couldn’t decipher.

“Well … yes, of course, Izzy, although what could be of interest to a young lady such as yourself in my small plain home I cannot think!” Helen inwardly started at her own forwardness in expressing such an opinion.

“That is something I might tell you someday, but now I shall see you to the gates of the wall so that you can show me where your cottage lies.”

Of course, by the time they had made their way through the corridors and down the stairs and through the great hall and the courtyard, night had fallen. Sentries had come from somewhere in the castle now, and although they looked a bit roughly worn, they manned their posts. Izzy ordered one young fellow to open the gates. She stood beside Helen in the opening as Helen found her cottage off down the hill. By the soft light she saw she knew Maggie had a fire going in the hearth, and Helen could hardly wait to be seated before it, telling Maggie about all the things she had seen in the castle.

“Farewell, Helen, till we meet again. Remember, you must show me your home, as I have shown you mine.”

“Oh Izzy, though I can’t imagine why you should ever want to see my plain little cottage, it would be an honor to me to welcome you any day you should come to my door!”

Izzy beckoned to a stocky grizzled guard. “Bacon, light yourself a torch and see my dear friend Helen safely home. I shall await your report of her arrival, so waste no time in returning.”

Helen wondered at Izzy’s order of a quick return, but Izzy waved them off, and the gates slowly closed as Helen and the guard made their torchlit way to the cottage down the hill.

Log in to write a note

I love this story, it’s so beautiful and has so much of your light in it. I love you my friend, take care of you and your day as carefully as you take care of this dear story. *hugs*

Oh good, more of the story : ) I like it. Thanks. Hugs and Smiles

…and then what happened?

Hmmm – intriguing! More, please. 😉 Hugs,

October 29, 2003

dum da dum …whats next??? im waiting. :D:D:D

October 29, 2003

a story! wonderful! very nice work!

I happened upon a site today for a Galway book store that I’ve actually been inside. We bought Teenster Chess for Dummies there (even though he’s not, of course) because he and Stepdaughter’s boyfriend had played the night before (and he wanted to beat him before the trip ended, no doubt). Anywho, there’s an art section there that I think you might enjoy. http://www.kennys.ie/

October 29, 2003

and then? 🙂 loving this as it unfolds.. hugs,

October 30, 2003

Good to see it continuing. It can be challenging to do this. I know. With a smile…

October 30, 2003

*offers a gentle smile at the realiztion of the story’s continuation*

what a magical story this is 🙂