Fingers, Hospitals, Cars and Money.

 Dear Diary;

♥  I came home from work tonight and the phone was ringing as I walked in the door, so I rushed to get it. No one was home, which was unusual. It was my dad telling me that he was at the hospital with my mom. who had had an accident at work (cue me almost having a heart attack for a second..). She had been taking boxes off a conveyor belt in the basement and her finger got stuck and was pulled into the thing… I don’t even know how it happened- all I know is that it chewed up her fingers pretty bad. She had to get the tip of her middle finger cut off. Right at the top knuckle- it’s gone for good. It’s her left hand, thankfully, and it’s bandaged up like crazy. She’s ok though and she’s currently drugged up and resting comfortably.

♥  I’m fairly certain my new car has been chosen. I pretty much got so stressed out about it that I caved in and went with my dad’s favourite one. Overall, I do like the car. It’s a 2008, White Ford Focus. There were/are a few things that I dislike (mainly that it doesn’t have remote entry or automatic locks.. no automatic windows… <— those are minor things, but I was pretty clear that I wanted automatic windows so that I could lock them when I’m transporting clients (one in particular who will undoubtedly play with the window cranks) so my dad’s solution was just to remove the window crank on the side of the car he sits on (insert eye roll). I keep having to tell myself that I like everything else and I’m getting a pretty decent car/deal for my first vehicle. I’ll post a picture when I do get the car.

♥  I think I mentioned how I’m getting screwed over at work for money, but I’ll mention it again. In order to get paid for the Stat holiday’s, you have to work 12 shifts. Because the program didn’t start last week.. or this week.. and possibly not next week- I don’t get my 12 shifts and I don’t get paid. Here’s what I found out today- No one told me I had to submit my hours to get paid. I was under the impression that my supervisor submitted those hours- because that’s what I was originally told. Guess what? Nope. I was depending on a big pay check tomorrow for all those hours I worked last week, but I’m not getting it until after Christmas now because I wasn’t told until today that I needed to submit my hours. It’s a good thing I didn’t go out this weekend and buy a couple hundred dollars worth of Christmas gifts…

..OH WAIT!

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 14, 2010

If you have an after market car alarm installed they’ll put actuators in the doors to make it key less entry and the doors will lock when you turn the car on 🙂

December 14, 2010

glad your mom is okay – one knuckle isn’t bad. That would be scary. as for the car – basic isn’t bad – I didn’t realize you were transporting kids tho – uugh. Get that pay sheet in – you’ll be super happy when you do get the pay! 🙂

December 14, 2010

wow glad your mom is ok!! scary stuff! that is rediculious about your new work. usually they have a payroll person to do that kind of stuff …. so nice of someone to tell you! sorry girly 🙁

December 14, 2010

Oh my goodness – I hope your mom is okay – that awful! Congrats on the car, very exciting!