Loads of fun sh!t. (and 4 Olympic Athletes!) *

Dear Diary;

No, really. I only have one bit of bad news and the rest is pretty much all good.

Which do you want first- the good news or the bad news? Bad news? Yeah, I like to get the bad stuff out of the way first too (come on, you know you were thinking it).

Okay, so Erin says she talked to her boss- but nothing has been done to rectify the situation. She absolutely has to work on the Wednesday (they have a trip to the Zoo) and I guess she’s gotta work the Thursday AND Friday too. This pretty much means that I’m on my own for three days out of the 4 and a half that I’m there. I plan on taking my camera and tagging along on the Zoo trip- maybe I’ll go off on my own and take some pictures that day. As for the Thursday and Friday, I don’t know yet. I’m REALLY not good at exploring on my own- don’t forget that whole anxiety thing.. you know.. the fear of being out in public by myself.

She says we can do stuff in the evenings after she’s done work- but from what I understand, she leaves the house at 5am everyday and doesn’t get home until after 6:30pm- and every time I talk to her during the week, she says she’s going to bed at 8pm because she’s tired and has to get up early for work… so.. I really don’t see us doing ANYTHING after she’s done work.

Ugh.. the whole thing still just makes me incredibly angry. Every time she’s talked to me since she told me she says "Are you still mad" … uh, HECK YES I’m mad! Grrrrrrrr.

*breathe*

Moving on to good things. 

I got my august schedule for work and I am TOTALLY relieved. My boss mentioned that because I was taking that whole week off she might book me to pick up shifts the week after I got back- but I’m not on the schedule except for my regularily scheduled weekend shifts! I’m very happy about this because a: my parents are off that week and we’ll probably go to the camp for a few days, and b: Erin is home that week visiting, and I can rub it in her face that at least I don’t have to work when she visits. Not that it would have mattered because at least she has family here to visit with. 

 I don’t work much at all in August actually, which is great for my stress levels, but bad for my wallet.

I booked ANOTHER photography session for the early fall!! 🙂 It’s just with my step-cousin, but still.. she’s going to pay me and everything to do some family portraits!

I’m at work right now and there’s only ONE kid here!!! yippee!! she’s settled and in bed. Ahhhhhh. Sweet, sweet silence.

I’m full of caffeine because I didn’t get much sleep today at all (okay, so this sort of fits under the bad news catergory, sue me). First the cat came to my window at 9am and meowed until I let him in, then the dog started barking like crazy at the men parked in the driveway who were looking at the horse trailer my dad is selling. About an hour after that, there was a knock at the door- again about the trailer and then there was 2 or 3 phone calls- so I just decided to get up about noon. I was going to lay down again around 4, but my cousin showed up to bake a birthday cake for her mom’s surprise birthday party tomorrow and there was no sleeping after that because there was just too much going on and I couldn’t turn off my brain. I should start crashing around 3am I figure.

Let’s see.. what else is new…

I was browsing wikipedia for info about Ian Millar earlier. Click on his name is you want to see more about him. Basically, he’s an award winning, Canadian show jumping champion who happens to live just outside Perth. He was in the running to carry the Canadian flag at the Olympics this year, but some other kayaking dude is doing it- which ticked me off a little. Ian holds the record for competing in more olympics than any other Canadian athelete.

Can I just brag for a moment please…

I’d like to proudly say that my home town of Perth, Ontario is home to not just one- not just two- not just three- but FOUR olympic athletes! That’s right, 4 people from this little town with a population of 6000 holds 4 olympic athletes who are heading to Beijing in August, 3 of which I went to highschool with. Yep, I’m not kidding. With the exception of Ian Millar, who is 61 years old, the athletes are all a year younger than myself. We have Mike Brown (swimming), Nick Tritton (Judo) and Sultana Frizzell (Hammer throw). I went to Washington DC with Sultana when I was in OAC, and her dad and my dad work together at Hydro 🙂

I had to brag about that for a moment because it makes me incredibly proud to be a resident of Perth. If you don’t like it, you can suck on my big toe.

I mean, come on! How cool is it that I went to highschool with 3 people who are going to the Olympics??

🙂

Anywhooo….

You can click on the link for Perth above if you want to know more about my special little town. If you don’t want to click, here are some interesting highlights:

♥ The town was established as a military settlement in 1816, shortly after the war of 1812. Many settlers were veterns of the war, or immigrants from Scotland/Ireland. Many of the Scotish settlers were stonemasons who built the locks of the Rideau canal.

♥ As I previously mentioned, it is the home of Ian Millar, world show jumping champion. His horse, Big Ben is burried on Millar Brooke Farm and there is a life sized, bronze statue of Ian on Big Ben in Stewart Park.

♥ Perth is also the site of the first installation of a telephone other than Bell’s experimental installations.

♥ The Perth Citizens’s Band, still giving concerts in the band stand behind Town Hall, is a tradition dating back over 150 years. The band is Canada’s oldest active town band. The Perth Citizens Band accompanied the Mammoth Cheese to the Chicago Worlds Fair in 1983.

♥ Perth is the winner of multiple awards including the "Prettiest town in Ontario" and the Prince of Wales Award for architectural preservation. In the summer of 2006, Canada AM selected Perth as one of four unique communities from across Canada to feature on their Breakfast show.

Notable People from Perth:

Marks Brothers (yep, seriously). -billed as the Canadian Kings of Repertoire and the most remarkable theatrical family in Canadian history.

Ian Millar, Mike Brown, Sultana Frizzel, Nick Tritton.

Billy Smith Former Hall of Fame NHL goaltender

Floyd Smith,  Former NHLer

Les Douglas, Former NHLer, Stanley Cup winner (Detroit Red Wings)

Gord Smith, Former NHLer

and finally, we have the Perth Courier, which is the second oldest weekly newspaper in Canada.

 

 

Pretty cool shit, eh?

 

*edit

check out the front page of my diary!

Log in to write a note
July 25, 2008

WOW 4 olympians! thats awesome 🙂

July 25, 2008

thats so cool about the athletes! i loved ian millar, i remember watching him jump on that great huge horse of his.. that sucks about your trip. i hope you can find something fun to do, maybe try checking events on facebook?

July 25, 2008

Borrow a car and come up to Edmonton to hang out with me!!! Its only a 3 hour drive LOL …

July 26, 2008

Very cool, EH? *smiles* Take care my friend and you really must get some sleep! Hugs

July 26, 2008

Perth does kick ass – I LOVED going to school there! That is awesome that Sultana and Nick are going too – I didn’t know that!!! WOOT WOOT!

July 26, 2008

SO I checked the front page out.. FAWK Mike is still hot! lol

July 26, 2008

I haven’t read your full entry yet, but got excited when I read you’d be going to the zoo. Only because you mentioned bringing your camera and I know you love photography – you’re going to get some amazing shots!! It’s beautiful.

July 26, 2008

Cool front page!

July 26, 2008

Damn, Mike IS hot!!! Yummy. (waves hello)

July 26, 2008

Oooh Mike is definitely hot! lol… Thats awesome that there are 4 olympians! Definitely something to brag about!